We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, but some things to be changed/sorted”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wouldn't be a compliant as such but firstly the shower in our room was slightly split, so couldn't use it also the first night was freezing due to heavy winds and the door leading to the little patio area was far from air tight, and the room was freezing (might as well of had the door open) - the rooms weren't bad other than that so just needs a bit of work on bringing back up to standard.
Also first impressions mean alot and think the front outside of the hotel could do with a bit of decorating I must admit if I hadn't of booked it online and was looking then and there I wouldn't of stayed there due to how slightly run down it looked outside, it's a shame as inside in fairly well kept!
One last thing would be the maid trying to enter our room at 9:30 in the morning on our deparcher day, they knocked once and didn't really give me time to go and open the door, and then she or he quickly open and then closed it when they must of seen a light on, I think this is very bad indeed, when I told reception they said they should knock twice, but she 100% only knocked once.. They did say they would keep a check on it. I don't think they should go in the room until after the 10:30 time it states that we should be out by.
But taken all that to one side.. We did still enjoy our stay, and couldn't fault the reception staff at all, as they were helpful on arrival by seeing if our room was ready early (we was very early) and gave us a cup of tea wile we waited, and they continued to be friendly and helpful all our stay. I would still recommend this hotel if these things were dealt with.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 347 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Inspite of the lousy reviews below, we decided to have a 4 day holiday here in January. We found it to be well worth the £109 we had paid for the trip.
The food in the dining room, although quite basic, was quite satisfactory with a good selection. The vegetarian options were found to be the most tasty. The young serving staff could not be more helpfull and pleasant and worked very hard to ensure no one waited too long to be served.
The bar staff and entertainments team all carried out their jobs with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.
The only slight niggle was, having a room right at the top of the building, there was a lack of water pressure and little hot water.
The rooms were decorated nicely and the tea and coffee supplied were topped up everyday, something you dont often get in hotels costing far much more.
All in all the whole visit was very enjoyable and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend for a short, inexpensive trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at front face beach thought top floo has low water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spikey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here just after Christmas as part of a coach holiday. For what we paid I was not expecting very much. The hotel has prime position and on arrival we received a warm welcome and a room, although on the small side was clean and comfortable. The food was adequate and the service quick and efficient. The service is where the hotel excels itself. The staff go an extra mile to ensure that their guests are comfortable and well looked after. This is a hotel that is exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sobrano29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stated at the Carlton Hotel for the New Year 2012. Warm welcome on arrival. Staff very polite and helpful. Entertainment was very good. As a coach driver my party all enjoyed the break . As a coach driver i take a trip every year for a tinsel and turkey long weekend i have just phoned the Carlton Hotel for a price as my wife and i enjoyed the break so much .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the carlton, from 29 Dec to 2 Jan . Hotel was good great location on seafront, bit of a hill up too main street but that's not hotels fault. I would Like too give a mention for charlotte the waitress who worked hard to ensure that everyone was ok at mealtimes and food was hot she couldn't do. enough for our party of six, people complained about her but I would liked too have seen them doing her job on new years eve with the amount of guests in the dining room,she was fast and efficient. And done her job well, all other staff worked hard aswell and were quick too help with any problems that you had .would definately go back too the Carlton

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane196993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading the reviews we were not looking forward to our christmas holiday, but on arrival we were met on the coach by the manager who welcomed us .on going into the hotel we found it clean and warm ( a good start) , our luggage was taken up to our bedroom which we found to be clean with fresh linen and towels. the bathroom was clean with a bath and shower, the only fault was no shower gel or bin. The resturant was clean the food was always hot and the service very quick special mention to our waiter Darren who was a treasure. The evening entertainmet was good but the best nights were when Joe Scott was playing not to be missed. On the whole a very enjoyable Christmas was had at the Carlton

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Much of what we found on our 5 day holiday has already been said.
The location, even in November and rain, is excellent, opposite the sea and a block from the shops. The staff are pleasant and giving us a cup of tea on our arrival was appreciated. John, who served us couldn't have been more attentive in the restaurant, BUT, the majority of us would not go there again.
Everything in the hotel is tired, including the decorations. The food is basic, (frozen veg. and burnt pots for our 'Christmas meal') Santa never came, though we were given a tiny diary each!
The bathroom needed a contortionist to get on and off the 'loo and the door to be left open to use the wash basin.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MianCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing