We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FILTHY & DISGUSTING THE ESPLANADE HOTEL”
Review of Seagrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagrove Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FILTHY & DISGUSTING THE ESPLANADE HOTEL”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

At £32 each a night I don't expect a lot. However I do expect my room to be clean. We stayed last August Bank Holiday when the Hotel was going through a refurbishment. We paid £22 a head & the rooms were cleanish but badly in need of decorating. We returned this year as we were promised that the hotel would be much improved by the owner. This is clearly not the case. There was 50 of us staying. My room had a fantastic balcony & sea view. However the laminate floor needed sweeping, the bathroom cleaning (somebody else's used soap was left in there & wee stains all down the toilet which also leaked over the floor). Plenty of hot water though. Bed comfortable although it was a double mattress on a king size base which resulted in me rolling in to my husband all night. Bedroom furniture broken & bedside lamps with no bulbs or anywhere to plug them in. Our room was one of the better ones! Others had dirty sheets (sand in the bed & long black hair), no towels (they smelt bad anyway), no toilet roll, NO HOT WATER & filthy dirty. Breakfast disgusting, tasteless muesli to start followed by a filthy fry up (no choice). Most were sick after eating it (those that dared) & I poured sugar from the dispenser in to my tea to discover that it was salt.

BE WARNED

Room Tip: From 50 of us not one of us could say they had a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    28
    14
    55
See reviews for
31
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in July 2012. The hotel was in the middle of referbishment. Yes the outside was a bit messy, but what do you expect. The rooms that were finished were rather grand, very very clean and modern. We had no noise from the workings even in the afternoon when went for a snooze. The food was very good. I personally have a very varied diet so would have liked some more continental food. Nothing was to much for the kitchen staff. The bar was still old but had character, we had entertainmaent but also made and enjoyed any other things going on. Elisabeth the owner was a gem nothing to much trouble. I would like to thank all of the hotel staff and see you in July 2013.

Eileen ( Dollo and Betty's group )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

just returned from a holiday in sandown .
was glad to see that the old sea grove hotel is at the moment closed and under going major refurbishment..
i understand that the hotel now has new owners.,,
the hotel has been renamed the esplenade.
i did not get to look inside but the work on the outside has made a huge difference and has been done to a very high standard..
i will keep my eyes open for when the reopening takes place and look out for the first reviews on trip advisor ,,,an may be even plan a return visit

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gypojohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well the seagrove had issues but it was a great place to go on holiday.the staff were great and the whole atmosphere had you returning year after year.
Now the Esplanade is down right crap. The owner is rude and abrupt and the staff are all on edge because of her temperment towards them.
The hotel has new floors and walls moved but the rooms are basic with stained bedding that i wouldnt put a dog in and stained matresses.
The whole place needs shutting. There is no entertainment and the atmosphere has gone. The food ok but really needs closing and turning into a elderly persons retirement home as the smells are horific and Elizabeth the owner has no cares for anyone even her disabled partner just left to his own devises.
A disgrace to man kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank FRED P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Co, Durham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the Seagrove Hotel on the 3rd July 2012 travelled with Stanley travel.
What a dump worst place we have ever been in, all the reviews about this place being filthy, worn out, and stuffy are true, even the week we spent there the food was rubbish, god I could go on and on about this tip, BUT AND THEIR IS A BUT , I pity you if you are going within the next month or so, but {yes another but} When we moved out on the 14th July workmen were already in renovating this hotel, entrance and the dining room had new floors, all beds and furniture was thrown outside plus the carpets, and they were skimming bedrooms, The new owner an oriental woman Elizabeth is her name is a real nice person, and if she gets some trained staff, and chef, and I am sure she will you will be going to a good hotel with a new name,
THE ESPLANADE HOTEL, this is the one to look for now, . But work is ongoing till xmas, so the workmen told us, enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: At this point of time all rooms at this hotel are been refurbished throughout, but ground floors loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BILLYCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

i sometimes pop back to trip advisor just to check see if things have improved at the seagrove.
but just reading recent reviews there has been no improvement....why travelstyle and other coach holiday companies still use this place is beyond me ;..
on our visit i think 80% of people on our coach said never again.,
but i see a little loyalty coming from the manager now and again.
BUT? does he think that all the reviews are inaccurate..
COME ON THEY CANT ALL BE WRONG,,,/?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gypojohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in march had wonderful weather and a fantastic time here at the seagrove already booked my holiday from work so does anyone know if travel style are going back to the seagrove in september

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chad Hill Hotel
Chad Hill Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Hotel

Property: Seagrove Hotel
Address: 42-44 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Seagrove Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing