We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular carvery pub a few miles out of town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brent Knoll Inn

Brent Knoll Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in East Brent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Running the brent knoll inn is what we do best. All are meat is purchased from a local butcher and are veg is all sourced locally. We are a dog friendly pub with a great atmosphere. We have a good selection of cask ales and we are camera supported. We have a large beer garden with plenty of seats.We also have a skittle alley and dart board. So come on down and enjoy are very friendly little village pub where we will be here to serve you, so come sit back enjoy a good pint with a excellent meal cooked fresh by our brilliant chef
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Popular carvery pub a few miles out of town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

No dislikes, godd grub, well cooked by happy caterers! Open every day and a popular venue for family gatherings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    37
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't be returning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having seen a write up in a local paper, we decided to go for a meal - what a let down! Started off by being given another table's meals - the first meal that came out was what I had ordered so i started to eat but when my husbands meal came out, we realised there was a mistake. Waitress took away 1 meal and went to take mine until I pointed out that I had started eating it. My husbands correct meal arrived but with different potatoe's than ordered. If you had blindfolded us and asked us what we where eating, we couldn't have told you - tasteless food. Also, wish we had read previous review about sitting near to kitchen - a lot of noise from chef. Would not be able to recommend and won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank B0S1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food service and people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found this treasure on a recent trip to Somerset there was a bit of a misunderstanding about our food order but dealt with fantastically. Food absolutely scrummy - no disappointments here and surpassed our expectations

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited recently - family group with two children. The service was friendly- the beer was good.
Good choice of menu for children,a vegetarian and the rest of us.
Considering how recently the pub had re-opened everything worked well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank optimistCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent Knoll, Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh dear what a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having read the reviews and looking for a last minute place to eat locally, we chose the Brent Knoll Inn. What a terrible mistake as the service was pitiful with wrong drinks being served. We should have left while the going was good! We waited for what seemed an age in an almost empty restaurant area - so the wait was not due to being busy. When our starters arrived the soup was awash with oil and was supposed to be cream of mushroom soup. My wife couldn't eat hers at all as there was just such a lot of oil floating on the surface. The rest of the meal was unimaginative and poorly presented with onion rings missing on one of the mains, a side order of onion rings arrived after prompting but turned out to be a pile of batter bits presumably scraped from the bottom of the fryer.
When we paid the bill we had to ask if they had added it up correctly as it was very expensive for the quality & quantity of the food served.
Will we visit this place again? Absolutely not, it is a crying shame as this was potentially a nice local place for us to pop out to when we felt lazy and didn't want to cook. We will be sticking with our usual first class haunt further afield.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brent Knoll Inn also viewed

Highbridge, Somerset
 

Been to Brent Knoll Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing