We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“looking forward to this one” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose and Crown Edgworth

The Rose and Crown Edgworth
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Edgworth
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, Pub, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Rose and Crown in situated in the lovely village of Edgworth and was built in the 1800's. We offer home cooked traditional food in a lovely clean environment. Outside seating is also available to both the front of the pub and the rear. we have live sports, a seperate dining and we are dog freindly in certain areas of the pub. we also have 3 letting en suite bedrooms too
manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“looking forward to this one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The positives nice place,staff luvly also the restaurant was was nicely laid out .Now the evening started out good, we had booked a table so there was no problem there it was when we came to order the problems started . I asked for rag pudding to which I was told none left this is 5.30pm on a sunday night so I ordered fish and chips my wife ordered the sunday roast (beef) they arrived very quickly.Now ive got to say the fish and chips was very ordinary and my wifes sunday dinner was not the best, the beef was like braising steak certainly not roast beef joint (topside) with lots of veg and one potato we had to ask for more.To be honest it was a very average meal and we will not go again for a meal maybe for a drink in the summer

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Owner at The Rose and Crown Edgworth, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise if you felt your meal wasn't what you expected.
Can I just point out that our roast beef is either topside or silverside bought from a well known butcher, I understand what you are saying with regards to the texture, the meat is seasoned and cooked in a black cast iron pot which gives it a very tender taste.
Our fish is 100% cod and is cooked in the chefs own made batter and served with the chef own made mushy peas.
Unfortunately we can not please everybody in what we do, but I do sincerely apologise for your experience and it is a shame that you choose not to eat with us again.

Do take care and have a lovely Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best sunday roast in Lancashire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We always love coming to the Rose and Crown every week on a Sunday. The staff are lovely and the food is amazing quality and at a good price. This place should be packed all day in my opinion,better than any Pub in ahuge radius. Clean pumps and fresh tasting drinks. The Pub is clean and welcoming.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Owner at The Rose and Crown Edgworth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this comment, we also feel we do an outstanding Sunday lunch with great service and we will continue to do this at all times, Thanks again from the Rose and Crown team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best Ham, Egg and Chips ever :)))”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

First impressions a warm and friendly welcome. Very quick and friendly service by a lovely lady who took time to chat to us about the menu and recommended the early bird menu which is £5 for a main course and excellent value for money. I tasted the best Ham, Egg and Chips I've ever eaten. Sweet menu was a little on the expensive side but it was still on £12 for two course and half a cider so that's excellent value for money. The interior is warm and friendly, not a great deal of parking but the pub is in a good location.

Will definately visit this establishment again very soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solo_Traveller187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Owner at The Rose and Crown Edgworth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
The Rose and Crown team thank you for your kind comments and feedback, The day time menu is proving very popular, it's great to be able to offer our customers great value food for a great price, Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place today 1/11/13 place was very clean and welcoming ordered 2mains from the value menu sausage and mash and cheese and onion pie service was quick and friendly and the food was excellent will go back again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Owner at The Rose and Crown Edgworth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
The Rose and Crown team thank you for your kind comments and feedback, Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average pub grub.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited the rose and crown today on recommendations from reviews on trip advisor. However, I had the trio of sausage,onion marmalade and jus. I got 1 pork and leek sausage and 2 chilli,which I think had been cooked previously and warmed up. Mash was nice but no onion in site! My partner had the curry which was lovely! Just disappointed with my meal- which was simply sausage and mash and should be quite easy to make! However they felt the need to cook sausages before hand and warm them up! Don't understand that!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B, Owner at The Rose and Crown Edgworth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback, we do try our best to prove the best home cooked quality food and service, if we didn't do this on your occasion we do apologise, we hope you will come and try us again in the near future, Thanks again from The Rose and Crown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose and Crown Edgworth also viewed

 

Been to The Rose and Crown Edgworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing