We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to visit and dine at the white horse”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Edgworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run Pub & Restaurant situated in the heart of Edgworth Village, nestled in the west Pennine Moors. The White Horse is one of Bolton's best loved & known landmarked inns, dating back to the late 1700's. It was built when the village crossroads were formed from the enclosure of Edgworth Moor in 1795. The Inn is famous for its beautiful long bar, old beams, open fires, cosy seating and welcoming charm with a vibrate atmosphere. We take great pride in Food Quality preparing fresh to order every day. We strive to ensure that our produce is sourced as locally as possible. Our meats, fish & vegetables are delivered every day to ensure freshness of quality. Our chips are famous for being hand cut on site to make the best proper homemade chips. Our Bar is known for its 6 Cask Conditioned Ales, bought from some of Lancashire's most popular breweries. Our knowledge on our ales ensures the customer always has a good choice to choose from our bar, suiting everyone's pallet!
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Always a pleasure to visit and dine at the white horse”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My partner and I absolutely love visiting The White Horse with our 5 yr old daughter Evie. Alex and his team are so friendly, the food is always delicious and fresh. I am really looking forward bringing a group of my close friends there this Friday 18th for my birthday meal. See you then x

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Rachel,

Many Thanks for you review and lovely comments! We're glad that you have a pleasurable experience every time you visit us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes

Alex

(Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    41
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well done Alex and team”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The White Horse has become the 'hub' of the Village and deservedly so.
A very friendly atmosphere with great food and service.
Nothing is too much trouble and you cannot possibly be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Nick,

Many Thanks for your fantastic review & comments. I'm really glad that you enjoy what we have to offer here at the White Horse and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes

Alex

(Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great pub grub.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We've been going to the White Horse for years and it has recently changed hands. I didn't think it would be possible to better what the previous owners did but they have. I love the bean burger, it's spicy, moist and delicious. The chips are the best I have had any where, proper chunky chips cooked to perfection. I can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Claire A,

Many thanks for your great review on The White Horse. I'm glad you enjoyed your Spicy Bean Burger and I'm particularly pleased you reviewed our 'hand cut' chips to be the best you've had any where!

We look forward to seeing you again on your return.

Kindest Regards

Alex
(Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An excellent pub”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I recently called in to the White Horse for a meal on a Sunday afternoon and I was very impressed. My meal (a roast beef dinner) was very tasty and the roast potatoes were to die for. The selection of real ales on the bar was very impressive, and my pint of Golden Pippin was very well kept. The staff were all friendly and seemed to be knowledgeable about the menu and the drinks available.

Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Pavorossi,

Many Thanks for your great review about the experience you had at The White Horse.
It has been my pleasure to read a great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your Roast Beef Dinner along with a pint of one of our guest ale's (Copper Dragon's Breweries 'Golden Pippin)' which is a particular favourite to many of our customers.

I am also pleased that you mentioned my staff were knowledgeable about our food & beverage offer.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Alex
(Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and choice of real ales - well worth a visit”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

First impression from the outside is that the pub is tidy, with real flowers in hanging baskets(always a good sign for me) but quite small, however on entering, it was found to be spacious, well-laid out, clean and had an attractive restaurant area, however, we opted to sit in the bar lounge for our lunch.
My partner drinks rose wine and there was only a choice of 2, white zinfandel or pinot grigio. The pinot was very nice though. There was more of choice for me, with 6 real ales to choose from. I can recommend the Flat Cap and the Gold. The young lady serving drinks enquired whether we were eating there and offered to set up a tab. There was a decent menu choice of the usual fare and I chose the pie of the day -steak, with mash and peas, which was quite the best pub pie I have experienced for some years, a light pastry with an ample supply of steak, all tender meat with no gristle and a light mash. My partner enjoyed a very tasty Thai chicken curry. The portions, though not huge, were filling and we could only manage to eat the crumble of the day - plum between us. This was also extremely tasty.
The service was excellent and both gents and ladies toilets were clean and fresh smelling.
We were the only people eating here on a Friday lunch time, which is a great shame. This pub deserves more business and is well worth going out of your way for a pie and pint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Prentonial,

Many Thanks for you fantastic feedback & comments based on your experience & service at The White Horse. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your review, especially the comments about our wines, real ale selection & our home cooked food.

We take great pride in our pub making sure everything is well presented externally as well as internally along with our food & beverage presentation making sure that every customer has a pleasant experience of what a real country pub should be like in the heart of a beautiful village.

It was unfortunate that on the day you came to visit us that we were fairly quite during lunch time, although most evenings and weekends we do have a consistent steady trade.

Once again many thanks for your review & feedback. We do hope you return to visit us again, and review us to be consistent at what we offer here at The White Horse.
Kindest Regards,


Alex

(Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing