We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super Sunday lunch”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Edgworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family run Pub & Restaurant situated in the heart of Edgworth Village, nestled in the west Pennine Moors. The White Horse is one of Bolton's best loved & known landmarked inns, dating back to the late 1700's. It was built when the village crossroads were formed from the enclosure of Edgworth Moor in 1795. The Inn is famous for its beautiful long bar, old beams, open fires, cosy seating and welcoming charm with a vibrate atmosphere. We take great pride in Food Quality preparing fresh to order every day. We strive to ensure that our produce is sourced as locally as possible. Our meats, fish & vegetables are delivered every day to ensure freshness of quality. Our chips are famous for being hand cut on site to make the best proper homemade chips. Our Bar is known for its 6 Cask Conditioned Ales, bought from some of Lancashire's most popular breweries. Our knowledge on our ales ensures the customer always has a good choice to choose from our bar, suiting everyone's pallet!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“super Sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The drive up to this character pub is lovely.Views of rolling hills and quaint stone buildings.Inside is cosy and traditional with a well kept feel.The young staff were friendly and efficient. I had pie of the day steak in lovely rich gravy with real chips.My partners haddock was massive and she found it to be a lovely piece of fish.All food was fresh and piping hot.I heartily recommend a meal here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Many Thanks for the great review. We're glad yourself & your wife enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    41
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently High Standard of Service, Food, Fine Wines and Real Ales!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have to hold my hands up first of all as I have become somewhat of a regular at this family run well lived in but, clean and comfy country pub north of Bolton. It is a pub that offers a warm welcome and serves the best pint of real ale and fresh prepared food in this lovely area. Makes a change from the 'freshly cooked' but 'frozen pre packed' rubbish I have to put up with during the week. We have visited this pub for a mother's day treat, after a disaster elsewhere the night before, and more recently on Easter Sunday. The 'special day' 3 course menus that this place cooks for £12.95 are simply unbeatable. My only niggle is that the recipes for the Moroccan Lamb main course and lime pie desert are closely guarded secrets. There are a good selection of wines, especially the reds and 7 real ales at the bar including Copper Dragon. We stayed on to watch part of the Sunday phone quiz, which was highly entertaining as it was fiercely contested by the locals. Thanks for a great Easter Sunday treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and experience at the White Horse. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Full"”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Decided to try somewhere different and we weren't disappointed!! Staff were all very polite and attentive. The food was absolutely delicious. I opted for the steak and mushroom pie and it has to be said this was one of the best flavoursome and tasty pies I've had in a long time. It was packed with steak and the gravy was awesome. Friendly classic country pub feel. We'll be back!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank queenb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks very much for your lovely review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We're glad that you enjoyed your Steak & Mushroom Pie and hope to welcome you back to The White Horse again soon, Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Traditional fare in traditional surroundings.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

In promptu lunchtime visit and our first in many years to the White Horse.
This is a traditional village centre pub, dark wood carpeted interior and a traditional lunchtime menu.
The food was well presented and very tasty and we had no complaints.
The staff were attentive and very pleasant, especially Edward, we will be back soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We're glad that you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you again on your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“3 out of 4 voted yes!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked The White Horse on the basis of the good reviews and were generally pleased with it. Tap water was available and three of our meals were good to excellent. Lamb shank - truly dropping off the bone as adertised, veg perfectly al dente, smooth creamy mash. Enough meat to ask for a doggy bag and our two muts were delighted with it too. Only niggle was not enough jus (or gravy...).

Lamb rogan josh - tender meat, full of flavour, plenty of curry, rice and a nan. I had a starter as a main - smoked haddock rarebit with a poached egg. Light, tasty, only niggle was that the 'rocket salad' consisted of about three leaves.

Onto poor husband - he ordered scampi and chips, which was well presented in a basket with a fake newspaper lining. The fish and chips were both fine but, disappointingly, not as substantial as they appeared as they were sitting on a bed of hidden salad. Warm salad that's had chips on it is not really what you expect to find at the bottom of a fried meal, which was nowhere near substantial enough to fill husband up.

Puddings were a similar story. Sticky toffee pudding - great slab of sublime sticky toffiness, lemon possett creamy, lemony and enough to share. Husband chose apple crumble to fill up on, which came in a small ramekin dish ...

The seating was a bit cramped and we had to ask to move our table, which was positioned in such a way that one of us could not slide into a chair. The young waitresses were fine; service a bit slow with about half an hour wait for our meals, but three of them were worth it.

Husband had a bowl of porridge when we got home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ShazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexJames22, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks for your review, I'm glad that 3 of you enjoyed your meals with us. I do apologise if your husbands meal wasn't as substantial as expected, if you had made me aware of this on your visit I would have been more than happy to change this for you. We do hope that you return and dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing