We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Resort in a Magic Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matauri Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I keep saying this in my reviews but this is once again one of the finest resort properties I have ever stayed in. It seems extraordinary expensive and it is, but the stay will convince you that it is worth it.

The owner is retired hedge fund billionaire from New York who bought an entire cattle property on the east coast of the North Island just north of the Bay of Islands because he wanted to build a golf course there. And what a spectacular course it is: superbly maintained, interesting and a real challenge, whichever of the five tees you use. The pro shop is superbly organised and you realise the $NZ400 per round when you find you have the course to yourself and everything is done for you, down to cleaning your clubs ready for the return journey through Australian quarantine.

Having built the course and country club, he added accommodation – of the same standard. From memory, Kauri Cliffs can accommodate 50 or 60, in a series of spacious duplex bungalows with low impact environment friendly profiles. Each bungalow has a huge open plan bedroom sitting area with an open fireplace with views over the golf course to the ocean. There is also a spacious dressing room and an enormous bathroom. Decoration is tasteful and understated with a nod to local materials and tradition.

The resort keeps an excellent table at the clubhouse with fine dining on a changing seasonal menu each night, casual lunches and brilliant breakfasts, which are best taken on the balcony looking south to the Bay of Islands. The excellent food is complemented with an outstanding list of New Zealand wine, which we slowly worked our way through on the four evenings of our visit guided by a knowledgeable sommelier.

The staff were attentive, professional and welcoming from the moment of our arrival till the day of our departure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 212 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

Suites were exceptional - lovely views from private deck - very comfortable beds - staff made you feel welcome without interferring - we hated to leave.................Cocktail hour was presented and served at your leisure - gourmet dining and quality service. Would return in a heart beat! Too early for beaches but did walk to both and they are lovely private sandy beaches - would be fun to have cooked dinner on beach but weather too cold.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamapapa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and I were married at Kauri Cliffs some 5 years ago so coming back for a two day getaway was always going to be special. However, just how special we thought it would be was enhanced above our expectations!! All the same luxuries and special features of Kauri were still there. Pink Beach, the Golf course, beautiful rooms and attentive, caring staff however there are some additions there which made it all the more special. Since we were here last the Robertson's have built one of the finest Spa facilities I have ever seen. Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Spa treatment rooms are all built seemingly into the flora and fauna of the hillside. Your treatment rooms open out onto a creek and over look native ferns and birdlife and while we were in the Jacuzzi a Tui landed just outside the door! Amazing facility and rates up with the best we have seen on our travels. The food was divine as it was last time and the five course dinner was brilliant both nights with the chef making subtle changes each night to keep it fresh for us. We even had a private dining room arranged for us outside with our own log fire to keep us warm... Bliss.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Kauri Cliffs has everything a guest could possibly need or desire: spectacular scenery; luxuriously appointed main lodge and guest rooms; original menus,exquisite food; world class golf course; lovely, restful spa with lap pool; gracious, attentive, helpful staff. Staying here is pure bliss from waking in the morning (or whenever) through dinner and a relaxed evening overlooking Matauri Bay. Its remote location is an essential part of its charm - well worth the trip. I look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlb390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

When my partner booked Kauri Cliffs for two nights, he had in mind using it as a base for exploring the region. We never left the property. It's a 6000 acre working farm, with lush meadows and rolling hills, sprinkled with fluffy lambs and gorgeous cows, complete with a stunning "infinity" golf course and the hotel. It's a destination in it's own right, and in my humble opinion it just makes the rest of the north island redundant, Auckland included.

There's just not enough praise for the sheer beauty and magnificence of the location, and the flawless taste and understated elegance of the lodge and cottages. The suites are large and plush, designed in a very elegant colonial style and extremely comfortable. How I came about actually leaving the room each morning is a mystery.
The restaurant served international cuisine of high standard (1 michelin star level I'd guess). The spa, of a size and level of equipment you would only expect to find in the best 200+ room city hotels, was a haven of peace and relaxation. The lodge was impeccably designed in the same plush colonial style of the rooms, its balcony boasting expansive views of the golf course and the ravishing coastline.
The staff was of the utmost correction and courteousness, the vast majority achieving perfect balance of friendliness and competence.
Not a golf player ourselves, we had no shortage of things to do.

Kauri Cliffs is most certainly among the very best hotels in the world, and the hefty price tag pales in comparison with the level of hospitality you enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Awesome-stunning-fabulous-magnificent-OK, I tried but just know that Kauri Cliffs is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Golfers will never want to leave and even if you don't golf there are plenty of activities on property for you to indulge in. From the moment you are greeted by the lodge, you are treated like royalty. The lodge is a wonderful building with 3 or 4 gathering rooms plus the dining area. Dining can be inside but we always chose to eat outside on the veranda so we could take in the spectacular views. Breakfast and dinner were included in the per person rate and all the food was marvelous. All the service personel are friendly and their sole task is to make your stay memorable . Our cottage was roomy and well appointed with an outside porch giving us full views of the Pacific Ocean. Waking up each morning to the most brilliant sunrise was inspiring as was our views of the stars at night. I just don't see how anyplace could be better. The golf course despite their long, dry summer was in superb condition, with 15 holes having ocean views. I want to see a course with five better finishing holes than 15-18 at Kauri Cliffs. If you love the beach, they have three private beaches that you literally have to yourself. Jump on a mountain bike and take a nice ride to see giant kari trees on property. Take a hike to see some waterfalls. Enjoy all the native birds and plants. Once we drove through the gates we never wanted to leave the property until it was time to depart. Now that we've experienced Kauri Cliffs we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Honestly, I could live at this place. And I don’t golf. But the views are spectacular for great hiking nearby, spa is very nice and excellent food/wine. One of the best places I’ve been for just relaxing and being pampered. The cottages are lovely and comfy, all with fireplaces and balconies with view of the ocean. The personal service is truly outstanding. I really like being met with a martini after a very long drive up from Auckland. That is the one thing I would do differently – even for people who like to drive, the trip up from Auckland via car is a bit tiring with the narrow two-lane roads. Unless you really like looking at sheep, I’d suggest flying to the nearby airport.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ_Rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matauri Bay
18.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
18.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
18.1 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
18.9 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
215 reviews
18.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs

Address: Matauri Bay Rd, Matauri Bay, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Matauri Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matauri Bay
Price Range: $1,227 - $3,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the far north of New Zealand lies an unspoiled peninsula. High cliffs and a few ranches on this welcoming island which won the hearts of Julian and Josie Robertson. After designing a magnificent 18-hole golf course, the couple created a splendid colonial residence with outlying cottages. Space is the real luxury, the suite an apartment, the bathroom a spa. The epitome of refinement in a distant corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauri Cliffs Hotel Matauri Bay
Kauri Cliffs Hotel Kerikeri
Kauri Cliffs Kerikeri
The Lodge At Kauri Cliffs New Zealand/Matauri Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing