We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
Nearby Hotels
$93
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
207
7
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
7
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursenew zealandworld classcape kidnappersround of golfnon golfersthe cottagesgolf shopspectacular viewsonce in a lifetimefood and wineevery respectpre dinner drinksopen firefarm tourbeautiful propertyplayed holes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 219 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Kauri Cliffs has everything a guest could possibly need or desire: spectacular scenery; luxuriously appointed main lodge and guest rooms; original menus,exquisite food; world class golf course; lovely, restful spa with lap pool; gracious, attentive, helpful staff. Staying here is pure bliss from waking in the morning (or whenever) through dinner and a relaxed evening overlooking Matauri Bay. Its remote location is an essential part of its charm - well worth the trip. I look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlb390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

When my partner booked Kauri Cliffs for two nights, he had in mind using it as a base for exploring the region. We never left the property. It's a 6000 acre working farm, with lush meadows and rolling hills, sprinkled with fluffy lambs and gorgeous cows, complete with a stunning "infinity" golf course and the hotel. It's a destination in it's own right, and in my humble opinion it just makes the rest of the north island redundant, Auckland included.

There's just not enough praise for the sheer beauty and magnificence of the location, and the flawless taste and understated elegance of the lodge and cottages. The suites are large and plush, designed in a very elegant colonial style and extremely comfortable. How I came about actually leaving the room each morning is a mystery.
The restaurant served international cuisine of high standard (1 michelin star level I'd guess). The spa, of a size and level of equipment you would only expect to find in the best 200+ room city hotels, was a haven of peace and relaxation. The lodge was impeccably designed in the same plush colonial style of the rooms, its balcony boasting expansive views of the golf course and the ravishing coastline.
The staff was of the utmost correction and courteousness, the vast majority achieving perfect balance of friendliness and competence.
Not a golf player ourselves, we had no shortage of things to do.

Kauri Cliffs is most certainly among the very best hotels in the world, and the hefty price tag pales in comparison with the level of hospitality you enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Awesome-stunning-fabulous-magnificent-OK, I tried but just know that Kauri Cliffs is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Golfers will never want to leave and even if you don't golf there are plenty of activities on property for you to indulge in. From the moment you are greeted by the lodge, you are treated like royalty. The lodge is a wonderful building with 3 or 4 gathering rooms plus the dining area. Dining can be inside but we always chose to eat outside on the veranda so we could take in the spectacular views. Breakfast and dinner were included in the per person rate and all the food was marvelous. All the service personel are friendly and their sole task is to make your stay memorable . Our cottage was roomy and well appointed with an outside porch giving us full views of the Pacific Ocean. Waking up each morning to the most brilliant sunrise was inspiring as was our views of the stars at night. I just don't see how anyplace could be better. The golf course despite their long, dry summer was in superb condition, with 15 holes having ocean views. I want to see a course with five better finishing holes than 15-18 at Kauri Cliffs. If you love the beach, they have three private beaches that you literally have to yourself. Jump on a mountain bike and take a nice ride to see giant kari trees on property. Take a hike to see some waterfalls. Enjoy all the native birds and plants. Once we drove through the gates we never wanted to leave the property until it was time to depart. Now that we've experienced Kauri Cliffs we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Honestly, I could live at this place. And I don’t golf. But the views are spectacular for great hiking nearby, spa is very nice and excellent food/wine. One of the best places I’ve been for just relaxing and being pampered. The cottages are lovely and comfy, all with fireplaces and balconies with view of the ocean. The personal service is truly outstanding. I really like being met with a martini after a very long drive up from Auckland. That is the one thing I would do differently – even for people who like to drive, the trip up from Auckland via car is a bit tiring with the narrow two-lane roads. Unless you really like looking at sheep, I’d suggest flying to the nearby airport.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ_Rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Quite simply fantastic. The impact of having a tremendously well funded backer with taste, a world class location and some of the best trained and travelled staff that we have experienced make this the best hotel we have ever stayed at anywhere in the world. We almost had it to ourselves as the season had not started and what more can one say about the graciousness of the hosts. Three private beaches and five state of the art spa rooms are just the start ......but it is the "software" that makes it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews