We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Kauri”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matauri Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Kauri”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at Kauri for two nights in October 2012 - it was a great experience. One of the main reasons for the trip was to play golf - the course is amazing and maintained beautifully. We must have been there at a quiet time as for a while I was the only player on the course!

It is a very expensive place to stay, but I would recommend it to anyone to treat yourself. My wife was a bit concerned that it could be a bit over the top but we found all the staff to be incredibly friendly and we had a really relaxing stay.

The lodge is amazing and decorated in a Hamptons style - one of the highlights was having dinner in one of the private rooms overlooking the course and sea. There were not many people staying and rather than having our meal in an empty dining room we were treated to great food in front of a blazing fire.

The accomodation is also well worth the stay and equal to any luxury lodge we have stayed in Asia. Included is an open fire, very large walk in robe and bathroom with seperate bath and shower. Although expensive it would probably be three times the size of a typical hotel room.

I will certainly return on our next trip to New Zealand and would recommend staying here to anyone who can manage the cost - it's worth splashing out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear JohnA52

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us. You have highlighted many of the wonderful features that make Kauri Cliffs so special, including our great team, who will be delighted to receive this great feedback.

We are so glad that you got to experience all that the property has to offer and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the future.

Regards
Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
121
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
georgetown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

From the time you enter the private gate to the time you leave is an incredible experience. The grounds, the views, the golf course are amazing. The service level is of the highest quality. For dinner we had the sampling menu and every dish was perfect. It's just a beautiful place to relax and enjoy . If anybody would love to enjoy a unique experience Kauri Cliffs should definitely be on their list. I can not wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kritsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kritsch,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience, especially playing golf and dining with us. The team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We live reasonably close to Kauri Cliffs, and have just visited again for lunch. Our latest visit was once again absolutely superb.

This is not just a nice restaurant, this is "fine dining" at its best. The food quality, the presentation, and the fresh ingredients really are exceptional. The staff are superb, friendly without being intrusive, and attentive ready for any assistance.

We have been to Kauri Cliffs several times, both to stay, and also for lunches. Each visit is unique and the management and staff are genuinely pleased to welcome their guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinPavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear MartinPavey
Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Kauri Cliffs. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Lodge and it sounds like you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge soon.
Regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

In spite of the horrific rain and whipping winds, our few days at Kauri Cliifs were nothing short of wonderful. The staff went beyond what one would expect even at so fine a hotel, taking us on drives so we could see the propery even though it was too rainy to walk. We indulged in excellent massages and enjoyed the fine cuisine. Amazingly, the day we were to leave, when many roads were flooded, the hotel sent a driver in front of us and another one behind us to make sure we arrived at the main road safely, then they followed up with an e-mail to our next destination. It's off the beaten path but very much worth the journey to get there, even if one doesn't plan on playing golf. Worthy of the Relais et Chateaux designation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Beautiful property. Fantastic food and service. The most spectacular views of any golf course . And there is more than golf... Dont miss having a pink beach picnic. The spa while small is really wonderful. The rain massage is fabulous. And the Farm Tour was great - we got to see the working dogs and sheep shearing which we loved. The last night they surprised us with a private dinner in a speial room with beautiful sunset views.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tid105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Kauri Cliffs is better than Kidnappers. The room is larger and better and the view is
super. The golf is more to my liking than Kidnappers and the Bay Of Islands is
wonderful to look out as you play 14-17. The food was excellent and the staff could
not be any better. My wife enjoyed all day in the spa, but she got to go on a kewi adventure
at Kidnappers which she loved. The pro and the golf staff were superb at both properties.
The culture is truly it's all about the guest.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I went here on our honeymoon. We really should have done better research. While the facilities are up to par for other resorts on this level, it is for a slightly more mature crowd of hard core golfers. It is not all that close to the activities in the Bay of Islands. It says it has two beaches, but you either have to arrange ahead of time for the resort to drive you down or take a golf cart and then hike down a rather steep hill. They also seem to have a very strong preference for you following their schedules. When we arrived after a long drive, we were given a long tour and then put in the common area with tea because our room wasn't ready yet. We were tired and just really didn't care about the golf or pro shop. When we mentioned that we were going on a horseback ride at four the next day the assistant manager got very insistent that we would miss the cocktail hour and group activities and that we had to tell him when we would be back because they would be holding dinner for us. This was a nice point until he said it several times in a way that definitely implied that we were inconveniencing him. The only thing that saved this trip was the dining manager,Shawn. He arranged for us to eat on our own schedule in our cottage when it was convenient for US. This wasn't even mentioned as an option on the tour. He also provided all sorts of local tips for the best places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Devon S

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Kauri Cliffs.

I was disappointed to hear that the location of the lodge and the proximity of the on-property features such as our beaches were not as you imagined. Being a unique property with 6500 acres there is some ground to cover and our staff at the lodge are always available to assist with transfers to ensure easy access to any location.

While Kauri Cliffs does have a golf course that is ranked in the world’s top 100 courses we consider this to be a feature that works in well with the many other leisure activities that are available such as our spa, tennis courts and a working farm that combined, make staying at Kauri Cliffs a unique experience.

I would like to apologise if the discussions involving your dinner service seemed restrictive, in response to this we are able to accommodate almost any request be it dietary restrictions, late dining or room service. In this case having learned that you would be horse riding 45 minutes drive from the lodge (with this activity not expected to have you back at the lodge until later in the evening) we were trying to ascertain the best way to ensure that we could deliver the best possible dining experience to you. I regret that the questions asked to achieve this were perceived in the way that they were, I can assure you that this was not our aim.

I am pleased to hear that your experiences with our Food & Beverage Manager helped you enjoy the remainder of your stay at the lodge and I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matauri Bay
18.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
18.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
18.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
18.0 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs

Property: The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
Address: Matauri Bay Rd, Matauri Bay, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Matauri Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matauri Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the far north of New Zealand lies an unspoiled peninsula. High cliffs and a few ranches on this welcoming island which won the hearts of Julian and Josie Robertson. After designing a magnificent 18-hole golf course, the couple created a splendid colonial residence with outlying cottages. Space is the real luxury, the suite an apartment, the bathroom a spa. The epitome of refinement in a distant corner of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauri Cliffs Hotel Matauri Bay
Kauri Cliffs Hotel Kerikeri
Kauri Cliffs Kerikeri
The Lodge At Kauri Cliffs New Zealand/Matauri Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing