We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted”

Eagle Waters Wildlife Resort
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disgusted”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our stay at Eagle Waters was horrible we paid R1320 per night for a wendy that is falling apart, a tv than can be a collectors item. Phoned the office speaking to Yolanda only to be screamed at, im busy with my lawyers to get my money back after she refused to refund us. This place will never see me again and i will pretty sure advertise in the local newspaper to avoid people going there and wasting there money, and have to put up with ignorant staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
18 Thank LeonieMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    3
    2
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Never Going Back”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

So, I ended up being here because some friends booked the place for our small couples seminar that we wanted to have at a nice location that had a lapa/meeting room for our meeting. When I heard the word "resort" and I heard the pricing structure to just enter the place, I was sure this place would be upscale and awesome, especially when the website boasts so much and needing to provide your name and license number when booking the place. The fees just to enter was R50 per car then R50 per adult and R30 per child, so we ended up spending R210 total just to enter. When we started making our way to the Lapa we saw that the road was a bit rundown but we figured that maybe they were going for a rustic feel since we could see zebras and bucks just running around free. We drove for maybe 2 minutes till we saw a building resembling a lapa since there were no signs whatsoever stating that, even though there were signs for the chalets. On the way there, there was a road but for some reason to get to the lapa there was no direct road or path so we had to drive through some rough area to get to it. The chalet was a lot smaller than we anticipated and like I said before, we had to provide a list of names that would be in attendance, so we assumed that there would be enough chairs to accommodate us. Instead there were about 10 chairs and when we asked for more they came back with maybe 5 more and a picnic bench. A picnic bench? We had no choice but to use it so there we were with chairs and a picnic bench in this small lapa. Also, the place was so dirty and unkept. There was a rickety metal table off to the side and there was a wasp nest in the ceiling so we were constantly ducking and running from the wasps since they were attracted to the juice and food that we brought. There are stone benches just outside the lapa, a small pool and braai area that we did not use. At least the pool looked clean. The bathrooms were just ok and if you used the toilet don't expect soap or anything to wash/dry your hands with. We were hoping to take a walk around the area but there really wasn't much to see other than the huge lake and the gorgeous houses on the opposite side but that was about it. There was an area for boaters to get their boats in the water and a parking area where there was trash along the waterline. I must say that the place has potential, they are just not taking advantage of that. I definitely will not be going back because it was a total waste of money and I was too irritated of all the hassle and money that was paid for such terrible accommodation and service. There are so many other nicer places closer to Pretoria.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank kramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Lovely location but in need of some TLC”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We rented a chalet for a weekend so that we could enjoy the lake and surroundings but, whilst the potential for this resort is enormous, the reality was far from enjoyable. The chalet was pretty basic, none of the doors would close, the shower had been removed, the paintwork needed updating and the TV was a collectors item. The lake areas around the resort were littered with debris including paper, cardboard, food containers, plastics and other rubbish and despite some attempts to clean up, the area was a real mess! There are no facilities such as shops or cafe's at the resort and nothing within reasonable walking distance. There are Zebra and Buck nearby and there does seem to be some development of a conference centre but work has stopped! The potential here is enormous as the location is great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank matkincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standerton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Places to avoid in future”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our trip to Eagle Waters was horrible to say the least. When we arrived the grass was knee-high and the ablution blocks were disgusting. On complaining there was some attempt to cut the grass and clean the ablution blocks but suffice to say that a bucket of water and some soap are only a drop of water in an ocean for what these need. They need some serious upgrading. Only one shower was working and the baths are not fit to dip dogs in. The toilets are revoltingly dirty. No hot water available in the cleaning area. The stands are very small and badly demarcated. Also there was a lot of confusion with people double booked on stands, being asked to move to other spots etc. On our last evening a caravan arrived laden with 6 children and at least the same in adults. they plonked themselves next to our caravan on a stand occupied by tents and proceeded to create mayhem until midnight putting up their tents etc. The only positive I can come up with is the security, they were very jacked up and pleasant. Eagle Waters will not be seeing us again in a hurry.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Karon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Waters Wildlife Resort also viewed

Broederstroom, North-West Province
Broederstroom, North-West Province
 
Broederstroom, North-West Province
Broederstroom, North-West Province
 

Been to Eagle Waters Wildlife Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing