We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot for a quick lunch”
Review of Aux Choeurs de Bacchus - CLOSED

Aux Choeurs de Bacchus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nice, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good spot for a quick lunch”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Arriving in Ruffec mid-week we were surprised to find virtually nothing open. We only happened on this place by chance and it was packed. We had to wait 20 minutes for a table but given that it was cold outside, there was nothing else open and we thought the meals on the table looked pretty good we were happy to do it. We had the set menu for the day. Once seated it took a while to get a menu of any sort but were interested to see the number of wines by the glass (this place also doubles as a kind of wine store selling cartons of wine). There were lots of interesting wines and recommendations for what goes with which meal. The food was reasonable, nothing to rave about and small-ish portions. Clearly this establishment is very popular with both the local business community, tourists and the surrounding expat community. It's perfect for a quick lunch if in the Ruffec area but nothing I, personally would make a special trip for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Finally!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After passing by the restaurant on numerous occasions we finally ate lunch there last week. Friends had booked a table which was just as well as those without a reservation were out of luck. We had the formule at 19 Euros and enjoyed every course. The service was good and the patron and his wife more than helpful in explaining the dishes and making us feel welcome. We chose a bottle of wine to enjoy with our meal rather than opt for the wine matching experience. We will certainly eat there again. Just try the profiteroles for dessert ... heaven!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollymook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condac
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wine”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

this restaurant in the middle of Ruffec majors on matching Food with wine you can order a different recommended glass with each course . Which is a nice idea food good simple & French

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CondacSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charente Maritime, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had lunch here a few days ago and had high hopes, having read the reviews but we were sadly disappointed. The décor is a bit shabby e.g. loose tiles on the floor in the loos, only two towels which were very nasty, woodchip wallpaper. The tables are extremely close together so you can hear every word of your neighbours' conversation, whether you want to or not. They charge restaurant prices but it is not a restaurant experience. The wine measures are very stingy , I don't expect it filled to the top but a third of a glass would be nice as in other restaurants. They need a blackboard for the specials rather than rattling them off for each client, we forgot half of them as did the people next to us and had to have it repeated. Their worst crime was serving hot food on cold plates, both our main courses were luke warm.
The hosts are very pleasant and the starters were nice, sliced parma ham for husband goat cheese and fig for me (figs a bit chewy though) but the mains were disappointing, hampe de boeuf with tinned veg all luke warm, scallops undercooked and not properly trimmed in sickly glaze again luke warm. Desserts ok, two profiteroles with ice cream and a thin choc sauce for me and a waffle with thin caramel sauce for husband. An all round lack of finesse. They are a stone's throw from the market so why not use fresh veg?

We won't be returning, I'm afraid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendyredredrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruffec, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super sunny lunch in Ruffec”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My son, his girlfriend and I had lunch at this lovely restaurant. We sat outside at a few tables they have overlooking the square - a little noisy but hey it's the town centre. As always a warm welcome from the owners (who explained the menu in English for my family's benefit) and were happy to move the umbrellas around as the shadows began to recede on a very hot day. The lunchtime 'formule' is simple but good quality. My starter of marinated fish can be recommended as was their fresh sardine salad and the chocolatey desserts went down a treat. The host's wine expertise was wasted on us this time as it was just too hot for booze, but on previous visits his advice has always been dependable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesleyW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Choeurs de Bacchus also viewed

 
Ruffec, Charente
 
Ruffec, Charente
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing