We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Acorn Lake

The gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The gite
The lake The lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The gite
The lake
The lounge area
The lounge area
Kitchen/diner
Double bedroom
Bedroom with 2 singles
The Gite
Enclosed play area
Carp caught in our lake
Our resident ducks
Around the lake
Carp caught in the lake
The local chateau 'Rochebrune'
The ruined fortress of St Germain de Confolens
Memorial village of Oradour Sur Glane
River Vienne in Chabanais
Above ground pool
Our new additions
Max & Cookie - two of our many friendly resident ducks
Sunflowers
The lake in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chabanais, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael W
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

we had an absolutely wonderful stay. the gite is comfortable and very clean, very well equipped and the lake was beautiful. tranquil and serene and full of so many fish, we caught some large ones around 30lb and some smaller ones.
Veena and Dean are excellent hosts, very friendly and nothing is a trouble for them, and even though their property is also close by they give you plenty of privacy. their two beautiful daughters are also an absolute credit to them and we're so helpful to us.
our dog was very welcome and loved meeting the owners two dogs Timmy and Diesel.

we had a lovely relaxing stay and we would absolutely love to come back in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you, John and Pearl enjoyed your stay and that you had some good catches from the lake. A big thank you for leaving the gite immaculate and also for the yummy pastries and dog treats! A pleasure meeting you all and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbou...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great fishing for the leisure carper”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My son his wife Granny and myself Had what can only be described as a great time.Son and wife stopped in the excellent gite while we stopped in our camper alongside .Absolutely no probs from very unobtrusive hosts. Fishing lake in excellent condition with lilly pads ,great fighting fish up to 30 lbs landed by our party.Can see this in the future been grabbed by the fishing book fraternity so if you want a great cheap as chips fishing holiday grab yourself a bargain.you wont be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are so pleased you had a good time and are happy you enjoyed the fishing.
Kind regards
Dean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibabs1
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing week.”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a great time here just a weeks not long enough.
The gite very clean, comfortable and very well presented.
Dean, Veena and the girls a great pleasure to meet you all.
Wishing you all the luck in the future.
The lake is beautiful.
Fishing was fun always hungry.
Maddie the duck made every day fun coming up for food, sheep and dogs very pleasant. Wishing we were still there.

The Sants

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Lake. It was a pleasure meeting you all and thank you very much for leaving the gite clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monstersq...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Gite, Great Hosts, Great Fishing”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The gite is lovely, dean and veena were great hosts!
Fishing was very good hooked the big one twice after I worked out where it seemed to hangout, lost it at the net both times, I estimate it was well over 30lb if not over 40lb!
Gite was very well located and well kitted out, very clean too
Loved having the little ducks and baby hen at the door every morning, the sheep were also friendly
There is a lot to do in the local area, vallee de singes is a must visit, and the canoeing down the road was brilliant, its by a campsite by the river, highly recommend you try this!
Was sad to come home after a lovely 10 days
Thanks for having us, will see you again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Gite, The Fishing Lake, The Hosts.... And the baby ducks and Chicken!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Hi Stuart & Isabel, thank you for your review and kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Lake and pleased you enjoyed the fishing. It was lovely meeting you both, oh and by the way we have now added a 25lb catfish into the lake! All the best Dean & Veena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milliedog...
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Acorn lake”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what a holiday beautiful gite and Dean and Veena are the most wonderful people you could ask for. couldn't do enough for you .fishing was fantastic cought 43 including 5x20s most around the 14lb mark. sorry dean I couldn't catch the big common and mirror we can't wait to go back just didn't want the holiday to end. Thanks. again dean and Veena for the most wonderful holiday . Thank you paul and nick

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benspunge
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful location in the heart of the Charente countryside”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently spent 11 days at Dean and Veena's holiday property. Thay are excellent hosts, always on hand with help or advice if we needed it. The property is set in very tranquil surroundings, and is ideally placed for taking walks into the local countryside.

It is an ideal place if you have a dog, as there is so much for him/her to explore. Ours loved walking round the lake, and was fascinated at the huge carp which kept surfacing right before our eyes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location, the large grounds which we had full use of, and last but not least, the very friendly hosts.
Liked least: The layout of the bedrooms which, we feel, is more suited to close families, as access to the second bedroom has to be made through the main bedroom. We only had limited intermittent access to wifi during our stay.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Fishermans/woman's Dream”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I only spent 3 hours fishing their lake, and oh man what amazing carp that are always hungry, they fought like gladiators.
An amazing village setting and fantastic family p, highly recommended, don't delay book today.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing