We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic five course offer - delicious”
Review of Kismet

Kismet
Ranked #49 of 151 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: KISMET is one of the oldest family run restaurant in north Tyneside.We are fully licensed Est-1967.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic five course offer - delicious”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try the deal at the Kismet for £10.
It was well worth it. Great booth, good choice of food and wine with good size portions. The staff couldnt have been nicer and we will defo go back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imelda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    15
    12
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Quality food - very tasty veggie options”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Have eaten at Kismet a number of times over the years, then when the kids came along we switched to takeaways, before choosing another takeaway due to the delays often encountered with Kismet (though no problem ever in terms of quality). Ventured out with the children early on a Friday evening and glad we're getting back to being able to go out to such restaurants with them. Quite a small restaurant, so always feels a bit cramped, especially the booths, which I think would be very cramped with 4 adults. Started with some poppodums, very nice and fresh and excellent range of pickles, including the best lime pickle I've had in a long time. Great vegetarian food options, including the ability to upgrade side dishes to main course size, so had a fantastic paneer jalfrezie with a very nice garlic naan. Wife and kids all enjoyed their food as well. Good, friendly service, helped by it being relatively quiet at that time of the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Number one”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food great service great, no need to go to ocean rd s.shields as this beats them all, been about 5 times and always enjoyed the food and service, Keep it up !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tileman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“All curries taste the same”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I dined in the Kismet last Sunday.
We had pickles and pompadoms and Onion Bajis to start with which was very nice.
For main courses, I had Chicken Dhansak and my wife had Lamb tikka Rogan.
We shared each others dishes which were OK. However, it was obvious that the same sauce was used in both curries as there was little difference in taste.Overall the meal was OK allthough the service was a bit slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This restaurant,has to be the best on the coast.and possibly the north east. The quality of the food is second to none,the staff are welcoming, attentive,very friendly,and the value for money,is unbelievable.the restaurant is small,but comfortable so booking well in advance is recommended we have been regular diners here for a while now,and we love it more each time we...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kismet also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Kismet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing