We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All curries taste the same”
Review of Kismet

Kismet
Ranked #54 of 149 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: KISMET is one of the oldest family run restaurant in north Tyneside.We are fully licensed Est-1967.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“All curries taste the same”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I dined in the Kismet last Sunday.
We had pickles and pompadoms and Onion Bajis to start with which was very nice.
For main courses, I had Chicken Dhansak and my wife had Lamb tikka Rogan.
We shared each others dishes which were OK. However, it was obvious that the same sauce was used in both curries as there was little difference in taste.Overall the meal was OK allthough the service was a bit slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    15
    12
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This restaurant,has to be the best on the coast.and possibly the north east. The quality of the food is second to none,the staff are welcoming, attentive,very friendly,and the value for money,is unbelievable.the restaurant is small,but comfortable so booking well in advance is recommended we have been regular diners here for a while now,and we love it more each time we...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you want a great Indian meal in the north east (Newcastle / North Tyneside) then look nofurtehr than the Kismet. The food is excellent, the service is both friendly and efficient. In terms of value for money this is probably the best Indian I have ever been to.

Don't be foold by the exterior, which could probably do with updating, because this is a great place to eat.

Having been to some of the more "upmarket" Indian restaurants in Newcastle I always ending up judging it by the Kismet and they all fall short.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Bland and Uninspiring”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited early on a Friday evening without making a booking. On arrival we were asked to perch on bar stools in a small crowded lobby surrounded by collection customers until the supervisor was free to determine availability (at that point only 3 tables were occupied).

After a short wait were shown to a very small (and wobbly) table a matter of feet from the waiting area and I was told to be careful with the fan heater cable that ran between the legs of my chair! As there was no offer to take our coats these were draped on the back of chairs and subsequently knocked to the floor each time somebody squeezed past which became very tiresome.

Having returned my incorrectly supplied drink order, we ordered from the Friday “Special” 6 course menu priced at £9.95 and comprising of poppodom and pickles, starter, main, shared side, rice and choice of coffee or ice cream. All the main courses on the special were Balti dishes although customers could substitute for another dish for and extra 85p.

Although the poppodom and pickles were brought to the table after a few minutes, we received our mixed kebab starters some 45 minutes after our arrival. The portions were small and the sheek kebab lacked flavour.

Our main courses arrived after a wait of 35 minutes and were extremely disappointing. The chicken and chicken tikka balti dishes were bland (and certainly not medium spiced), barely warm, lacking meat content and placed onto a food warmer that was ineffective as requiring replacement candles. The rice portions were generous but overcooked and we both ended up eating the meat and leaving the remainder of the meal. The waitress clearing our table enquired whether we had enjoyed our meal but didn’t appear to hear our response as she hurried away.

We finished with coffees and having tried unsuccessfully to attract the attention of either of the servers, we resorted to fighting our way through the collection customers to the bar for our bill.

It appeared throughout our visit that the meal collection service took priority over sit-in customers. “Regular” customers also appeared to receive preferential table service.

Having only two waiting staff was wholly inadequate for 44 covers and the restaurant layout was such that when the central table of 10 was occupied it was difficult for customers to get to the inadequate toilet facility and for waiting staff to safely manoeuvre past with food. The close proximity to other diners and the noise also made conversing very difficult.

Based on our experience, we will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best curry on the coast!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We love the kismet. The curry is beautiful...authentic, tasty, complex and spicy in taste, we have never been disappointed in the three years we have lived in Whitley Bay. My parents often come up from Lincoln and wish they had the kismet on their doorstep. The staff are attentive and warm...they recommended a spicy pickle called naga to us last time which really enhanced all the favours...the staff are keen and knowledgeable. We would definitely recommend the balti night on a Friday and the achari, karai and ceylon curries in particular as well as the ragara pattice, a lush chickpea starter. We have recently tried out newer restaurants locally, but the kismet always wins hands down with their traditional style.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsScott1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kismet also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Kismet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing