We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff. No customer service. No available parking.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #21 of 24 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff. No customer service. No available parking.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

During check-in, member of staff displayed complete indifference and no customer service whatsoever. Although the Marlborough advertises that it provides free parking, there were no spaces available. I was told it was first come, first serve and I would have to try and find a space on the street round the corner which turned out to be resident permit controlled or a maximum stay of 2 hours for visitors. I asked another member of staff for help in locating a space but was treated with complete disdain. Customer service and empathy was totally lacking. Poor wireless internet reception. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    16
    22
    66
See reviews for
44
64
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night, July 3rd 2010. Parking at the front of the hotel was great. Hotel smelled a little 'musty' as we walked in, so did our hotel room. Bedroom was adequately furnished and decorated. Room was very clean, although the carpet was quite stained, and either needs renewing or a good clean with a carpet shampooer! But we were not really bothered, we paid £65 for the room, which we were very suprised to find had 4 single beds in, which would be fantastic for a family, or group on a night out round Whitley Bay.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly, chatty and polite. The beds were really comfy, I had a fantastic nights sleep. Bed linen was clean, crisp and fresh - LOVELY!
Breakfast the next morning was nice. Check out was very easy. All in all, a great priced room, with fantastic staff, and one of the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. Nice tea tray in bedroom, with some very nice 'posh' biscuits.
Tips, we were extremely hot when we arrived, as it was a very hot sunny day. Getting ready, well we were absolutely boiling! We did not notice there was a fan in the wadrobe, on the top shelf, which would have come in extremely handy!
The italian place which I think is next door but one to the hotel, was lovely. The food there was exceptional, and very reasonably priced, give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

This was my first visit to Whitley Bay and thought this hotel had the best location in the area. Really enjoyed my stay 5 night stay at the Marlborough Hotel. I wanted a room with a sea view and I was not disapointed. The weather during my stay was mainly wet and windy so it was nice that my room had a seat by the window from which I could look out to sea while walm and dry. The resturant next to the hotel was good value for money and its close location was appreciated when it was wet. There was an excellent tea tray with a good selection of drinks, decent sized mugs and really nice "posh biscuits" Staff were pleasant and always pleased to help if asked. The hotel had a computer available for guests to use free of charge which was useful for looking at places to visit and checking the best way to get there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYOAKTREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

this just sums up the hotel: average room, average breakfast, average service, average decor. This place needs some money spending on the building, the rooms and on customer service, it beggars belief that this place has amassed 4 stars - how?? the best thing about the hotel - checking out. And even then there was no staff to take my key.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kockeymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

The Hotel is excellent in a very good location, we were in a family room, having one King bed and 2 single beds for one weekend in April 2010. The location is very attractive in front of the sea directly, also near all shops and restaurants. Best choice for a good holiday. Prices are very resonable,services are good, and the staff are very nice, cooperative always.
Although the original reason for being there is to visit a friend in Whitley Bay, we decided to come very often and spend some of the weekends in the Hotel because we discovered that it was a big fun over that weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough uk
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a concert and found it very comfortable
We were giving a Premier room at the front of the hotel where we could sit with pleasure watching the world go by on the promenade. It was a lovely room and one I would return to.
The staff were very friendly and when it came to breakfast, there was plenty of food. Once again, the staff couldnt do enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling GB
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

I stayed for 2 days the staff were friendly the room a large upper room facing the sea, seems the smaller rooms were taken so I got an upgrade, the bed was comfy and room was clean and airy, food in the morning was just right fried breakfast and real coffee just the start you need,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seavixen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#8 of 11 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandsides Guest House
Sandsides Guest House
#2 of 24 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandsbrook Guest House
Sandsbrook Guest House
#11 of 24 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cara Guesthouse
The Cara Guesthouse
#6 of 24 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Property: Marlborough Hotel
Address: 20-21 East Parade | Central Promenade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here, you will find a wide selection of en suite accommodation, with sea front, family and ground floor rooms available. Overlooking the broad sweep of Whitley Bay's golden sands, this family guest accommodation hotel forms part of an Edwardian terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing