We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“o i do like to be at the seaside”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #21 of 24 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
york
1 review
“o i do like to be at the seaside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

A good old fashioned seaside holiday, fantastic veiws, staff brill and the restrant next door was delisious. will come back to do some shopping

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    16
    22
    66
See reviews for
44
64
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

The hotel was really fine, bit old and worn around the edges. The staff were friendly and helpful, the place itself was fine - just not as good as most other places we've stayed all around the UK. It's very much in keeping with the area, probably seen better days.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home bird UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

It is the 1st hotel I have had to pay for on arrival, most likely because you wouldn’t stay if you didn’t. I was only booked in for 2 nights and had to live out of my suitcase as I didn't get the room I was booked into until the 2nd day. This replacement room had two enornormous chandeliers on the table by the window, a broken chair and mattresses stored in it. I had to accept this as it was the only available room downstairs. The second room was unsuitable as I am disabled and had to climb over the double bed (in a single room) to close the curtains and turn the tv on and off. There was nothing posted up anywhere to say when the dining room opened for breakfast so I had to ask when I arrived what time breakfast was (7.30am-9.00am), I was not told the dining room only opened at 8am on a Saturday, I had to ring for an explanation only to be told people like a lie in on Saturday, yet we had to be out for 10.30am if we were leaving. The cooked breakfast was laughable. I cannot eat eggs and do not like mushrooms but a replacement was not offered and the proportions were tiny. 1 small piece of bacon, 1 sausage, a dessertspoonful of beans and a quarter of an uncooked tomato. I had been given two slices of toast but when I asked the waitress for 1 more slice she sucked in her breath as if I was asking for the impossible. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Be warned.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sannanHomeBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

I put a review on here earlier, but the place has changed ownership. The rooms are still Ok but the service is completely different. At breakfast we were never offered a cook breakfast, I think he just forgot us!! We waited but were ignored. It was noted by a hotel inspector who was at the next table. These people have no people skills, they do not know how to handle people at all. I used to look forward to my frequent stays here but all this has changed.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulandsonja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Absolutely terrible.
served an uncooked egg for breakfast which the proprioter then tried to warm up under a grill! was then brought out the same cold food on the same plate. was challanged for raising the fact that the food was uncooked. told not to dare complain as no-one else had done so -which was not true as we'd heard another guest complaining about the lack of advertised services. proprietor then began to involve other guests in the dining room. she was threatning and abusive. it was like a scene from Fawlty Towers but not funny.
we'd stayed here last year before it changed hands and what a difference. The present owners need a lesson in people skills and manners. we were made to pay up front and now know why! The Hotel Inspector would struggle to inprove this place. Avoid at all costs.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The abuse given by the female proprietor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Clita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

Felt right from the moment I checked in. Friendly & personal welcome. Clear information. Comfortable, clean & well organised single en suite room. Quiet - apart from the high winds outside (!) and an excellent breakfast pleasantly served in an attractive dining-room. I would definitely make this my first choice whenever I return to the area.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Trevor43_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

A fantastic hotel on the seafront, with magnificent views out across the North Sea. Alan is a fine gentleman and the perfect host, thanks for such attention to detail and such a warm welcome. Five star.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Views
  • Disliked — I coundn't stay longer
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank expatscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#8 of 11 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandsides Guest House
Sandsides Guest House
#2 of 24 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandsbrook Guest House
Sandsbrook Guest House
#11 of 24 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cara Guesthouse
The Cara Guesthouse
#6 of 24 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Property: Marlborough Hotel
Address: 20-21 East Parade | Central Promenade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here, you will find a wide selection of en suite accommodation, with sea front, family and ground floor rooms available. Overlooking the broad sweep of Whitley Bay's golden sands, this family guest accommodation hotel forms part of an Edwardian terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing