We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the Marlborough Hotel”
Review of Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at the beginning of our journey to walk Hadrian's Wall. We were so pleased to discover that our room had a view of the ocean. The room was even better than expected with traditional decor, a sitting area, a kitchenette and a nice bathroom. The owner recommended a very nice Italian restaurant for dinner that evening. For breakfast, the 'full English' was customized to our tastes and we were not disappointed. I felt that the Marlborough was a great value for the money and the owner tried very hard to make certain that everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good: sea view, large bed was very comfortable, general cleanliness, decent sized room
Adequate:insufficient parking; decor is tired, breakfast room ceiling, for example, has been re-plastered but not painted. One bedside lamp and one chair in a room for 4 people? (although to be fair there were only 2 of us)
Must do better: We ate rubbery scrambled egg amidst a sea of uncleared tables (ie ALL the other tables except the one we were sat at), and that was after we'd had to go and find the waiter from elsewhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PontifexYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

my son and i stayed here on the 21st of june 2012 we were in the area for a concert i found the people
i dealt with very warm friendly and helpful,the room we stayed in was very spacious clean and comfortable the breakfast was very enjoyable all in all it was very pleasant experience will definetly be going back.
M,McGrath Halifax

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Booked a room online and confirmed the details by phone the day before our arrival - they rang us to check that we understood the room wasn't en suite, which we knew. Arrived on the day to be told we hadn't booked. Then told we were booked for the following day and there weren't any rooms available. Finally offered a room that wasn't let any more as it wasn't en suite. Turned out to be the room we had originally booked.

The room smelt of stale smoke and was in dire need of decoration. Splashes of dried tea/coffee (I hope) on the wall. Laundered but marked (my wife says stained) bed linen. Only one towel in the room. We never got another despite asking. Paper thin walls, but a nice sea view. The only saving grace was Carla who served us at breakfast. she was great, sadly can't say the same for anyone or anything else.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jbwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

i have rated this hotel as a 1 star because you cant rate a 0 star for it,,,,the woman who owns this hotel is a absoloute disgrace the way she talks and treats her staff,,her attitude is appaling,,,food orders always messed up utter disgrace even a dumping site would be better than staying at this hotel.......

Room Tip: none to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Only stayed 24hrs,daughter and I for local concert but this hotel got my five stars for cleanliness friendliness and good old fashioned Geordie hospitality
Will def return to Marlborough if I'm in the area.
Many thanks to all
Regards terry Regulski

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tekkers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Leak in ceiling,drpping all night,had to use hand towel to catch water, raw plaster ceiling with tv wires sticking out of wall,yellow stains on bed sheets,2 single beds stuck together, shower door hanging off,curtains had plaster stuck on them, this was a 4 star room! Raised with owner and got shouted and refused to refund any money. Didn't stay for breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlliLuce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Whitley Bay
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Lighthouse Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Whitley Bay
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandsides Guest House
Sandsides Guest House
#2 of 23 in Whitley Bay
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandsbrook Guest House
Sandsbrook Guest House
#11 of 23 in Whitley Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Address: 20-21 East Parade | Central Promenade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range: $45 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here, you will find a wide selection of en suite accommodation, with sea front, family and ground floor rooms available. Overlooking the broad sweep of Whitley Bay's golden sands, this family guest accommodation hotel forms part of an Edwardian terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing