We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Hen Party”
Review of Caprice Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caprice Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Really good hotel for Hen Party. The bar is really good and serves cocktails and has offers on drinks.
Had a fantastic time staying there and enjoying partying in Newcastle. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to have a good time and want somewhere cheap to stay.
The manager is really friendly and approachable with payments and general questions. The hotel has a really good atmosphere when its sunny or a bank holiday as more people are out having fun. The hotel suits all ages.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

Great Hotel,Great Rooms,Good Bar,good Music what more can you ask for

will be defo back for my birthday in a few weeks Time

Stayed: September 2010
1  Thank bobdope2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel took us at short notice as there was a problem with our booking at a hotel nearby.
We travelled with 6 adults and two young children. The staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardygate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We were on our end of season football and went to the Caprice and it was ideal.
I had read all the bad reports about not getting the security bond back, and I mentioned this when booking. The bloke John was superb with me and said if there was no damage there would be no charge and was a really pleasant bloke.
When hotel has a pub underneath it and a is ideal if you are with a group looking for a good time. The rooms were ideal and nice, although we hardly spent any time in them.
The bar was open all night so we could all have a drink when we got back in.
For me the Caprice was superb and I will defo be going back with the boys again next year. Thanks for a brill time John and being so welcoming.
PS. We got the security bond back no problem once we handed the keys in.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottMckinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

one off the best weekends we have ever had.
we arrived on the friday night and were a bit apprehensive because all of the bad reviews
but we were met by the hotel manager who checked us in to the hotel and did take a £20 bond but can you blame them we were a rowdy hen do! but we didnt trash anything so we got every penny back.
the rooms were lovely and very well decorated, clean everything you would need for a short stay because we werent in the rooms for long we spent most of our time in the bar below which was excellent, great music and lovely staff everone is so helpfull.
will definatley be back for my own hen do!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen27Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Just back from a weekend away with friends. On arrival we thought, you have to be joking . . a hotel with a burger van in the front garden and lager louts urinating in the flower bed, and it all went down hill from there!

We were greeted by an elderly gentleman with no front teeth, who proceeded to ask straight away for £20 up front for damage cover, before he'd even said Hello. Upon reaching our pent house appartment, we were faced with one damp, cold room with minimal decor and five single bed which resembled a squatters digs. (We had booked for two twin rooms) The carpet was covered in stains, the ceiling was ready to fall in and the paint on the wall was wet. When we pulled back the covers on one of the beds the linen was stained and smelt of mothballs... this was going to be one hell of a weekend!

As for the bathroom, ive seen cleaner ponds. There was fungus growning out of the shower wall and no toilet seat. Enough said.

As we ventured out in the evening, the area was jumping and lively this made up for the dump we had to stay in. We where woken up at 7:30am by workmen, removing doors in the corridors, who managed to set the fire alarms off TWICE. Not the best hangover cure as you can imagine.

After heading out for the day to clear our heads and do a bit of shopping, we returned at 4:00pm to find strippers running through the corridors,disgusting. Enough was enough so we left in tears. I"ll not be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northernclipper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proud, Manager at Caprice Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2009

I am sorry to see that you have felt it necessary to put such a hurtful review on here. We have recently took over the buisness and are working constantly to try and improve the hotel hence the workmen in on saturday morning. It was neccessary for them to do the work as the corridors had just had new carpets fitted and the fire doors were getting jammed. However the workmen didn't start until 9.
I would also just like to clarify a few points, you say you booked two twin rooms if that had been the case you would have had two twin rooms, you actually changed your original booking from 5 people (requested a tripple and twin) to 4, and when asked if you would prefer to be in one room together you said yes. All bathrooms in the hotel do have have toilet seats and i also find it very hard to believe that your bed linen smelt of mothballs as the bed linen is cleaned daily, this is surely impossible as they were put on your beds no longer that 3 hours before you arrived. You say your room was cold, as i recall you complained that your room was cold, and assured us that your radiator was turned on, i came straight up to help and i discoved that you hadn't in fact turned the radiator on.
Finally yes we do have strippers in the bar below which is resticted to the bar, it is unlikely however that it was a stipper you saw in the hotel more likely to be a female guest. Was it not yourselves who caused a disturbance at 2.30am by throwing things around the corridors? You were told that if this continued you would be asked to leave....is this what this complaints about?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Now then where do you start...

Was staying in The Caprice with some mates - We are lads in our late twenties and were not expecting a palace however what were met with was something pretty grim indeed.

The toothless fella that has been discussed earlier met us and escorted us to our rooms - Oh he did ask for a hundred quid damage bond which had never been explained in booking process - Thought fair do's must be something special waiting for us.

Well, my goodness - The two rooms we had would not have looked out of place in a derelict building - Paint peelinf from walls, stains all over carpets etc etc. The room I had the mis-pleasure of staying in had no light in the bathroom so had to shower with the door open (This subsequently caused the smoke alarm to go off ....)

We also had a random door that was unsecured - when this was detailed to the manager - he suggested it was okay as that was to the hotel next door which had been re-posessed!!!!

Sunday we got our damage bond back but as we joked with another group waiting outside I am not sure how we could have damged a room that was already in apparent dis-repair.

The manager was serving breakfast so he said that we would have a wait for our cash back as someone was inspecting the room - As mentioned we got it back but I am not sure who did the inspection as I would have liked to check their housekeeping credentials ...

In conclusion - this was comfortably the worst 'hotel' experience I have ever had an when returning next will be opting for the Travel Inn at Royal Quays or Travel Lodge on A19 - no wonder for the death of the independent business with standards like this place .....

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MidfieldEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 9 in Whitley Bay
353 reviews
0 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 9 in Whitley Bay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 9 in Whitley Bay
117 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprice Hotel

Address: 14-16 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range: $56 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing