We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esplanade Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$113
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
$80
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaktree Lodge(Whitley Bay)
$103
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aabba Guest House(Whitley Bay)(Great Value!)
$60
$48
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
22
8
12
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
8
12
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreexcellent standardcomfortable bedensuite roomsea frontlovely breakfastmetro
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 59 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Coming from Australia I expected somewhere along the waterfront with the address listed as Esplanade as that's how it is back home. Anyway it's up the hill away from the water but what do I expect for budget accomodation?The guy who runs it is genuinely friendly and nothing a problem if asked. The room was very tired, the mattress although comfortable enough to sleep on did indeed have me rolling into the middle, the hand basin had obviously been broken and repaired, the ceiling vent dripped water when it rained and the water pressure......there is none. Look it was clean, comfortable, cheap and nice people trying to do there best.

Room Tip: Don't ask for water views as you'll have two sets of stairs to tackle and not much to see but after staying up top and hearing the floor boards creak underfoot I'd have hated to be the room under ours!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Fairly happy with Esplanade Lodge without getting too excited. Rooms basic but clean. Food good even served early on the Sunday as most guests were running GNR.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preston_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The Esplanade Lodge was certainly cheap but personally I believe that what ever you pay for accommodation there are certain basics that should be adhered too.

The concept of bed and breakfast is to offer bed and breakfast.

1) My bed sloped from side to side
2) 7.30 was too early for breakfast....and I would have struggled to get it upto an hour later.

+ points.....
The room was tired but it was clean, the b&b is in prime location for a night out and the sea front, You can come and go as you please, it was cheap and breakfast would have been available for later diners.

Personally I dont want to stay again but for a cheap night out its ok.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Arrived here, owner not in premises and was let in by a german girl who threw the keys at me told me which room i was in and said she was going out to a party. Got to the room - shared bathroom which was ok - but TV not working. Phoned recption and spoke to this gilr again but was hung up on by her. Returned to find here and tell her the problem to whcih she said she was not the owner so could not sort it out. When i asked to speak to the owner or chaneg rooms she got stroppy and her friend came over and told me it was too late for them to be repairing Tvs tonight so i could have another room - patronising?? Won/t be going back with that kind of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ng41975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

place was very dirty. needs a jolly good clean and redecorating.rooms were dirty.coffee splashed over radiators and walls.pictures on walls filtlhy. shower head absolutely disgusting. no shower curtain. carpets in rooms badly stained.
one poor girl having to do absolutely everything. very run down. reception area as you walk in needs a general facelift not at all welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shilly3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews