We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of Cornerstone Cafe

Cornerstone Cafe
Ranked #22 of 155 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A warm welcome awaits you at the this lovely café. I'm not sure if people realise but this day-time café can also be used for privite dining outside of usual opening hours. I recently used the café for 23 training course delegates to dine in on 3 consecutive evenings. The menu was varied and the food second to none; freshly cooked and steaming hot on serving. They cook a roast dinner to perfection!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Cafe in Whitley Bay By Far !”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great café for Breakfast, lunch or indeed anytime.

This is a family run Café with a regular clientele and so the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

Food is always freshly prepared and cooked to order and so it may take a little longer than some places, but it is worth a short wait.

Cornerstone has no equal in Whitley Bay, just don't bother going anywhere else because you will be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in Whitley Bay”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is our family's favourite café in our hometown. Cornerstone's food is always excellent - tasty, well-cooked, beautifully presented - and the ambience is just right. We never feel hassled when the kids make a bit noise, and the staff always hand the kids colouring books and other toys to keep them occupied. You can get anything from a heart English breakfast to exotic salads, all freshly made. You should also try their delicious home-made scones - these aren't just your standard cheese or fruit efforts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place in the spring when the in-laws were up visiting for the weekend. It's very relaxed and friendly. The owner (I think) was very chatty and made our visitors from the midlands feel very welcome.

The food is Italian inspired and we all went for Paninis/bruschettas. Food was lovely service great! It is definitely worth a visit if you are in Whitley Bay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeordieMicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a bit of a wait for our full English & Pot of tea but it was worth it. Everything was cooked to perfection & the staff were very friendly & busy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornerstone Cafe also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cornerstone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing