We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but also clean”

The Melrose Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitley Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Melrose Guest House
Ranked #7 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good but also clean”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks here and nothing was to much for Wendy.
The room was always cleaned and fresh good tv and DVD player great location.
Would recommend this b&b................................;.......................................................................................................

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl6258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb-bay, Owner at The Melrose Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay & I hope to see you again next time you're in the area. Kind Regards, Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our first, but certainly not last stay at the Melrose. The hotel is well placed, close to everything but away from the crowds. The rooms have been refurbished well, and were nice and clean. The rooms are modern but maintain the features and style of the lovely old property. The owner Wendy and Rocket (her top cat!) made the stay complete, nothing was too much trouble The home cooked breakfast made a great start to the day. Well done the Melrose we will definatly be back, thanks Wendy! Sharon & Gary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoLLy_T2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb-bay, Owner at The Melrose Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It was great to see you guys again & thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay & myself (and Rocket) hope you'll visit us again very soon. Kind Regards, Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wendy is very friendly and welcoming,rooms very clean and comfortable,communal toilets & showers also very clean,great breakfast and pack lunch all this and good value for money.This is my second stay here (2 x 2 weeks) while working away and would stay again!
Cheers Paul.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb-bay, Manager at The Melrose Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed staying at the Melrose and thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review. It really was a pleasure to have you stay and I hope to see you again next time you're in the area. Kind Regards, Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Like home from home, very friendly hostess who goes that extra mile. Clean and well kept, great breakfast, nice bright rooms. This was in fact our third stay at The Melrose and we can't wait to come back in October. Thanks for everything Wendy! Margaret and Alex, Irvine, Ayrshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb-bay, Owner at The Melrose Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It's always lovely to see familiar faces returning & never more true with you guys. Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review & hope to see you again really soon. Kind Regards, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hostess was friendly upon arriving the rooms were very clean, beds were really comfy and although it was communal toilets,bath/shower it was very clean and well stocked. Breakfast was great and fantasic service from wendy...Definately will return and perfect for weekend away with friends or couples and a welcome smiley face if you are working away from home...Thanks wendy!!!!!!From The Airdrie Girls

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb-bay, Owner at The Melrose Guest House, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review girls, it really was a pleasure having you stay at the Melrose. See you again soon i hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Situated just a 2 min walk from town yet quiet enough as not to disturb sleep.
The host,Wendy was instantly likeable and friendly. The room was airy and spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable and linen spotless.
The en-suite again was clean and tidy with fluffy clean towels available
The breakfast next morning was ample and well cooked.
A very good value hotel,ive paid nearly twice as much to stay in places not even near this standard. This is my 3rd visit in 3 mths and ill return time and time again.
.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb-bay, Owner at The Melrose Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review & for taking the time to write it. It's great to get your feedback especially as your job means you're an experienced traveller. Thanks again & hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

good parking. good for stag at weekends, contractors groups of friends midweek, clean and a good breakfast. a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahameaccrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Lighthouse Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose Guest House

Property: The Melrose Guest House
Address: 45 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing