We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy”
Review of Waterford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterford Arms
Ranked #9 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Hopton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while traveling around the country. The owner was very friendly and stopped what he was doing to personally show us to our room. The room was certainly not plush but was comfortable. We left for the day and returned about 7 PM expecting to eat dinner there. When we entered the dining area, it was empty and a waitress told us they stop serving at 6 PM. It would have been nice if the staff would have told us that little fact. We were so tired at that point we didn't want to go out again so just went to our room and ate some crackers that we had with us. The bar music was very loud and the people in the room next to us had their TV so loud, even at 2 and 3 AM that it was impossible to sleep. The breakfast the next morning was very good and plentiful but not good enough to make us want to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
21
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have had Sunday lunch here for years and it was really great.Served on large white plates with wonderful meat, roast potatoes,huge Yorkshire pudd and real gravy. A wide selection of veg served in individual dishes.Now however since April 2013 it is under new management.The people at the Killingworth Arms now have it.It is now a carvery.Stand in line for your food served on really small plates.The meat has been overcooked and the veg is an absolute disgrace. It is on a hot plate and in containers swilling with water.carrots and peas sloshing about. The cabbage impossible to drain.Turnip and mash a slop.I suspect the yorkshires were frozen.The gravy rank.Plenty of food just horrible.When I complained they offered me a new meal. I did not want more of the same.
Before writing this honest review I decided to give the boss who had not been there an opportunity to discuss this with me. I rang the Killingworth Arms and the staff said he was not there and didnot know where he was. They asked what the problem was.I explained and was told they would give him my complaint and my phone number and he would contact me. Still waiting. I am very disappointed and I have to say I did notice that a lot of the regulars had given it a swerve also.
such a shame a nice little pub in a great location. So I would advise try somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank doreen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitley Bay hotels

Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

my wife and i stayed at The Waterford Arms on the way from london to scotland and glad we stopped there. Clean room great views and dinner and breakfast were extra special. Staff were so freindly and helpful and very reasonable tarrif. Would recommend it to anyone who is in the area.

Room Tip: room with ocean veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a short vacation in off season, pub was pretty dead but staff were very helpful and freindly. Food in the evening was typical pub food but very well cooked. Room was nothing special but clean and good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Shug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Waterford Arms has long been a favourite of ours, and we often get requests from family visiting us from other parts of the country to go there for the famous "whale and chips" - so called due to the size of the fish they serve. That was the reason for our visit recently, my brother is visiting and requested that we eat here.
We haven't been since the change of management but were pleased to see no radical change has taken place to the decor, however the welcome we received on arrival was certainly not what it used to be. Don't get me wrong, it was not actually hostile, but there was no smile, no small talk, no attempt to make us feel welcome. Two dirty coffee cups remained on the small table where we sat and waited, and the man who I presume is the new manager did not speak to us, even when coming to check on our table when we were eating.
It is a real shame, because the food was excellent and is reasonably priced. It would not take much to make this place a real joy to visit - just a friendly word, a warm welcome and some attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWoo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Today i was passing by and decided to just pop in and have fish since its well known for excellent cod.The price was unbelievably cheap for the quality of the food.All i can say it was excellent and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbybushe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Me, my husband and our two small children arrived at the Waterford Arms without a booking on a Saturday tea-time hoping we could be squeezed in on short notice. The waiting staff were very accomodating and found us a spot and provided clean highchairs (you would be surprised how few establishments bother to wipe down baby equipment before sending it out for people to use).

We ordered and were all delighted with our meals. My husband had the medium fish & chips, which he thoroughly enjoyed. My three year old gobbled her entire meal in double-quick time (sausage & mash), then proceeded to try bits of her dad's fish & my pasta. I am a vegetarian myself and have become used to being dished up scorched microwave meals or over cooked veggies covered with cheese in pubs. Not today though, I ordered the vegetarian lasagne which was clearly freshly made and packed full of perfectly cooked (not at all mushy) vegetables. The dish was even seasoned and flavoursome and everything. A rare treat!

We had a lovely meal and will definitely be back to sample more of the menu soon...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
389 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 9 in Whitley Bay
116 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 9 in Whitley Bay
336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Lighthouse Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Whitley Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Arms

Property: Waterford Arms
Address: Collywell Bay Road | Seaton Sluice, Whitley Bay NE26 4QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing