We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, taking advantage of a special offer for just £40 - breakfast was £7.95 if you wanted to eat at the hotel. We weren't sure what to expect as Whitley bay can be a bit hit and miss for accommodation, but we were very pleased with our room. Very clean, comfortable bed, and convenient location. A bit noisy but nothing more than you would expect with all the bars outside. Staff were helpful and friendly. The decor was a bit old fashioned but that didn't matter to us. We would come here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiajb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    108
    72
    42
    41
See reviews for
73
121
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here weekend 06-04-2013,very nice and clean staff welcoming and situated next to sea front;This hotel was value for money would book again only bad point was noise from nearby club but it was Easter weekend I suppose.

Room Tip: Room facing the front and was very hot so had window open which caused a bit of problem with noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie14Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for three nights over Easter Weekend, rooms a little tired but clean, night life across the street entertaining rather than annoying, food good value and all staff helpful and friendly. Secure parking a bonus, would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you don't want entertained, chose a room towards the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a night recently and was very impressed. The room we had was huge, very clean and the bed was very comfy. We found the staff to be very attentive and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, General Manager at Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback, here at the Windsor Hotel we pride ourselves in our high standards but like to create a homely atmosphere for customers to relax in. Over the next few months the rooms are going through a refurbishment program to ensure the standards can only increase further.
I look forward to seeing you again soon and future reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I used to stay a lot at the Windsor for Business purposes about ten years ago so this was a bit of nostalgia. The hotel was refurbished in the nineties so is getting a little tired now although rooms are holding up well. The hotel was redecorating while we were there. Rooms are spacious and there is a bar and restaurant. Good secure parking at hotel rear which is a must as located in busy hub street for night life. Great location in town centre. We stayed at weekend and hotel was busy with leisure guests. Receptionist could have been a little more helpful and gave impression of lack of interest. Breakfast staff worked hard on Sunday. Got a good deal on internet and then phoned hotel who agreed to price match. Bar Man was very helpful. We were using as a base for visiting family. Good value for money and in my opinion one of better hotels in the area still even if it is a little tired and dated.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the end rooms with large bathroom they have bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armstrongandy4617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, General Manager at Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback, here at the Windsor Hotel we pride ourselves in our high standards but like to create a homely atmosphere for customers to relax in.
Over the next few months the rooms are going through a refurbishment program to ensure the standards can only increase further. I hope that you can return and review again that those tired area's have moved up in standard again.
I am sure that the receptionist did not mean to sound disinterested, however I would like to speak to you in regard to this. Please could you take the time to contact myself.
I look forward to seeing you again soon and future reviews.
Many Thanks
Steven Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Three nights here with my partner completed my trifecta of Whitley Bay hotels, the room was comfortable if faded and well used, but clean and welcoming.

The room, on the first floor at the front of the hotel had a large ensuite bathroom, with comfortably large bath and powerful shower.

Some noise from other pubs & clubs outside the hotel was evident, and this would possibly disturb guests who turned in earlier than we did - but staying up late ourselves this was not an issue

The room itself was in need of refurbishment, but not desperately so.

We took breakfast on two of the mornings we stayed, and were satisfied by it.

The most notable aspect of the hotel though are the staff - every single member of staff we met was friendly and willing to go the extra mile to help us, a genuine pleasure in a larger establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front overlook the main strip of pubs & clubs, so will be noisy in evenings & w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, General Manager at Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback, here at the Windsor Hotel we pride ourselves in our high standards but like to create a homely atmosphere for customers to relax in.
Indeed certain areas are a little tired however, over the next few months the rooms are going through a refurbishment program to ensure the standards can only increase further.
I look forward to seeing you again soon and future reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at The Windsor over Christmas 2012 - from 23rd to 26th. We were having Christmas with family locally and just needed a bed for the night as their house didn t have the room to sleep us all comfortably. I know the Windsor of old having grown up in Whitley Bay but had never stayed there.
Its right to say the bedroom decoration is a little tired and would benefit from some updating. The bathrooms are a pleasant surprise and look more modern than the bedrooms . The communal areas could also use some TLC if the full room rate price is to be properly justified.
However the star of the place is without a doubt Jonathan . A more attentive , thoughtful and entertaining young man than I have ever et before when staying in a hotel. He could not do enough for us and went out of his way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
I was particularly impressed by his work ethic - something so lacking in the youth of today - many could learn from him. He was up late into the night on Christmas Eve making sure the hotel dining room looked its absolute best for the diners who were arriving for their Christmas dinner the following day - and was clearly desperate to ensure their Christmas dinner was the best it could possibly be - despite the fact he himself was not able to celebrate his Christmas until late Boxing Day.
I wanted to take him home with me. Windsor Hotel - give that boy a pay rise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M, General Manager at Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback, here at the Windsor Hotel we pride ourselves in our high standards but like to create a homely atmosphere for customers to relax in. Over the next few months the rooms are going through a refurbishment program to ensure the standards can only increase further.
I look forward to seeing you again soon and future reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 10 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 10 in Whitley Bay
222 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay

Property: Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Address: 37-49 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing