We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of The Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metropolitan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed one night whilst working in the area. Lovely place with well appointed rooms. Big shower enclosure which is great for us large chaps.Top quality breakfast. Highly recommended. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
111
31
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a one night stay here and were very pleased. It is a small boutique hotel, very clean and comfortable with a tasty and freshly cooked breakfast. I would recommend this as a good place to stay, very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajenkinsPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

i stayed here overnight on a business trip. Stephen greeted me with a warm welcome, and suggested places to eat in the area (even supplying plates, cutlery etc for my takeaway). Everything from the knives and forks to the decor is meticulously thought out and spotless. Breakfast was prompt, hot and fresh (and delicious!). Rooms are comfortable, with an abundance of tea, coffee (hot chocolate and biscuits). bathroom was well stocked, with plenty of towels too. my only complaint is that my stay wasn't longer.

Room Tip: i stayed in Room 3, comfy double bed, roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Absolutely spotless - bijou - well appointed - modern - great service - everything you could need well catered for - congratulations you deserve all the plaudits you receive. Also restaurant reccomendation was great. Will stay again when next in the area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith&shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My mother and i stayed here in September, we have one or two nights away every year, so we can spend some quality time together away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Mam wanted to go to Whitley bay because it holds a lot of childhood memories for her. i looked on tripadvisor and found The Metropolitan with good reviews so i booked up with them. All our friends and family laughed when we said we had chose to go to Whitley bay but the laugh was on them we had a wonderful time. The Metropolitan was a very pleasant place to stay it was immaculate. Both Stephen and Andrew were very friendly and The breakfast was outstanding. There was also some nice little touches like complimentary cup cakes in your room. a big thank you to you both for making our quality time together extra special. we WILL be back next year... keep up the good work and take care.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Met by Stephen who was friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and contained everything we needed. Breakfast served quickly , hot , well presented and plenty of choice. The hotel had a 'bar code' theme to its decor and was very tasteful. We'll go back next time we visit our friends in Whitley Bay.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms were quiet, ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Arrived 28 October 13 for 6 nights checking quick and easy very helpful owner went out of his way to do anthing for us would 100% recommend and would return again in the future, Full English Breakfast Amazing stayed in a family room 2 single 1 double room was great clean large bathroom great views

Thank you

Daren

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#9 of 10 in Whitley Bay
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 10 in Whitley Bay
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 10 in Whitley Bay
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan

Property: The Metropolitan
Address: 13 Esplanade, Whitley Bay NE26 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitley Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan bed and breakfast is situated in the heart of Whitley Bay, We provide our guests with quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a modern setting at an affordable price. Centrally located, The Metropolitan is a few minutes walk from the blue flag beaches and Whitley Bay town centre. The Metropolitan is positioned in a quiet street which is close to all transport links, restaurants, theatre, bars and nightlife. It is the ideal place to stay to enjoy all that Whitley Bay and surrounding areas have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing