We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Metropolitan
Nearby Hotels
$113
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Hotel(Whitley Bay)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 52(Whitley Bay)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cara Guesthouse(Whitley Bay)
$80
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Whitley Bay)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aabba Guest House(Whitley Bay)(Great Value!)
$60
$48
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
311
35
11
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
35
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplates and cutleryhot chocolatefresh fruitextra touchesbottled waterlittle extrason arrivalbiscuitsmetro stationexcellent breakfastroom numbercomfortable bedseach morningwarm welcometea and coffeelittle gemstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 358 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We received a warm welcome from Stephen on our arrival at the hotel. Nothing is too much for these guys. They even recommended and booked tables at 2 great restaurants in the town (Shikara and Devanti, reviewed separately).
The hotel is in a great location and easy to find, but make sure you use the postcode NE262AH if you’re using Satnav. The hotel is just a short walk from the beach and the metro station, and also is in easy walking distance of Whitley Bay town centre. There a 2 parking spaces on the forecourt of the hotel and free on street parking along The Esplanade outside the hotel, though I would expect this may get busy in the summer.
The hotel has very modern decor and spotlessly clean throughout. Our room was a double with a very comfortable double bed and the hotel is in a quiet location so you should get a great night’s sleep. (However we discovered that the walls are a little thin, and we could hear the heavy snoring of the guy next door, so earplugs might be advisable!!!) The ensuite bathroom was a little small but perfectly functional, with a great powerful hot shower. There’s also a wall mounted LCD tv and a dvd player, an ipod dock alarm clock, and tons of storage space if you’re staying for any length of time.
It was the extra touches that make it even better though:
Powerful hairdryer
Box of cotton pads/buds & balls in the bathroom
Freestanding shaving mirror
Cole & Lewis shampoo & shower gel

You are given a breakfast menu to complete with a full English choice as well as cereals, toast, fresh fruits and yoghurts to choose from. Breakfast is up to 9.30 am and you jut state what time you want it and it’s cooked freshly for you, just how you want it. The breakfast room is light and airy and continues the decor theme of the whole hotel, and there’s even an LCD tv in here too if you’re partial to tv while you eat.

I would highly recommend the Metrolpolitan, great location, great hotel, excellent hosts

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spinny500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent hosts,great value for money.would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good time in whitley bay.will definitely stay here again in the future.its perfectly located for all the local bars and nightlife but also very family friendly.the owners and staff are very helpful and genuinely nice people.i wouldnt hesitate to tell anyone that this is a clean,well run establishment and if you are looking for somewhere affordable to stay in this part of the north east then this is the place

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazzer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a great B&B but not cheap. The interior is co-ordinated to a minimalist black, grey and white theme that is so clean it squeaks. Only gripe we had was the size of the shower/toilet - room 3 - so small it is like being shut in a cupboard. Their credit card modem went down the day we checked out so not happy to have to pay in cash for two nights. Nice breakfast and comfy bed. Would go back although Whitley Bay is very run down - Nearby Tynemouth is much nicer. Shame our room looked out on to a very unkempt back yard.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back and side overlook a very unkempt back yard. Front facing rooms (few?) view on to a very quiet street. Much preferable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here for a 2 night break with my husband and 3 small children (8,5 & 3) and can't speak highly enough about the metropolitan would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of visiting Newcastle. Stephen was ready and waiting for our arrival and such a warm and friendly welcome we felt at home straight away. Shown to our room straight away and we were blown away with the room, it was huge and it's not always easy to find a place to accomodate the 5 of us so this was super it had 2 singles and 2 doubles. The whole place was spotless and he really has thought of everything. Beds were so comfy. Breakfast was delicious and Stephen had it bang on time. His passion for his business shone through and nothing was too much trouble for him. He was great with the kids which made our stay even better. It was a short walk to the metro no problem for our boys so the location is fantastic and a short walk to seafront. Overall this is a truly amazing place to stay, decor really modern, breakfast scrummy, spotless, made to feel at home. Stephen really has a cracking bed & breakfast and wish him every success for many many years to come. This was our first visit and it will not be our last, can't wait to book again. Best wishes from the Smyton Family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmytonE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropolitan, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back , i am extremely happy that you had such an enjoyable stay at the metropolitan , i hope that if your in the area in the future we will see you all again .
kind regards
Andrew Stephenson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

fantastic welcome on arrival.excellent room (no 4).decor great taste.best bed i have slept in.ensuite large and very good shower.everything you need for breakfast,cereal,yoghurts,fresh fruit and full cooked breakfast with plenty toast and tea or coffee.any needs catered for.

Room Tip: room 4 is excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordyperthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropolitan, Owner at The Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review , i am pleased you had a excellent stay at The Metropolitan . we try our best to make sure every one has a hassle free enjoyable time here .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews