We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandsbrook Guest House
Ranked #11 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Welcoming and refreshing”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, arranged by my hosts during a longer stay at a neighbouring guest house while they were away visiting family - Jenny made the transition into her home easy for me, and straight forward.

The room was small but comfortable and allowed access to a shared bathroom facility adjacent.

My only regret is that due to the short time I was staying, and the amount of time I was out of the house with work and other commitments I was not able to appreciate the surroundings more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was looking for somewhere cheap to stay overnight for Great North Run. I found this guest house via web search. Reassured and impressed by initial phone contact with Jenny who was very friendly and helpful. She even advised my friends not to book anywhere on the Promenade. Unfortunately they had no choice and lived to regret it. Sandsbrook is on a quiet side street, 5 min walk from the sea front. Jenny was very welcoming, explained where everything was and all about breakfast, etc. My single room was perfectly adequate, with handbasin, tea making facilities and TV. My room and shower room opposite were spotlessly clean as was the dining room. Breakfast was good. I would definitely stay here again. Very good value. If you want the Ritz then pay Ritz prices. Thank you Jenny for a brief but enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETERBOROUGH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Firstly we arrived and was made to feel very welcome by the owner Jenny. Then it all hit us. The smell of our room was unbearble, like urine and damp. We had been provided with tea & coffee making facilities but there was no plug socket. One bathroom between 11 girls not good. The shower was honestly poor. I did not use as my firend said it was unclean, poor pressure and COLD. We had told Jenny why we was there to enjoy the nightlife. We was being talked about because some of the girls smoked and they would go downstairs and outside a couple times. This was very outrageous as what would they prefer for them to smoke in the room and be given a £50 fine to replenish a room that needed a serious makeover. Money in heR pocket more like. THIS HIT A NERVE AS THE OWNERS WERE HAPPY PUFFING AWAY IN THE PLACE AND ADDED TO THE HORRIFIC SMELL.....The bed I slept in was very uncomfortable and smelled the duVets seemed damp so I slept in my coat as did not want to touch anything. I mean I am not a snob but for god sake. Then to top it off we all payed deposits 3 weeks prior and one girl did not make it. She made us pay for her unattendance which is legally wrong as that what a deposit is used for. Jenny arranged for us to have a taxi which I cannot fault as a great value for money and he was very friendly. After a good night on the town we was all looking forward to our breakfast. Which was just awful. There was no other choice that what we was given. Egg undercooked we was given one sausage which I was glad as my first bite was my last awful. Tinned mushrooms tinned tomatoes. TINNED TINNED TINNED. My firend found a unwelcome hair on her plate and not the kind you think (literally) The sugar dispenser did not work was all blocked and mouldy. I now know why. NO HANDWASH HAD TO PAY FOR PARKING. I MEAN THERE IS A ENDLESS LIST. Also we do not think they are registered B&B as no major credit/debit cards are taken only cash and they are not on any website. Checkout was at 10:00am we all left before that and we had hangovers. WHAT DOES THAT TELL YA!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferWhitleyBay, Owner at Sandsbrook Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
i am sorry that theses girls did not enjoy there stay. a dispute led to them writing this review. i can assure any future guests that my guesthouse is clean and well run. i have been in this game for a very long time and if i wasnt up to standard i wouldnt be here. my guest house is all legal and above board. the ingredients in which i use for breakfast are all fresh except the beans in which obviously come out of a tin !! jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

A very warm welcome and friendly service. The room was big, the furniture a little old, but everything was functioning well. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here over the Jubilee weekend with a group of lads. We were transferred here from the 'not so great' Alcatraz which was full. Warm and friendly welcome by the upbeat owner. Breakfast was on time and very nice indeed and the bedrooms were clean and tidy. Felt like we were staying at a friend’s would recommend this for anyone looking for good value and location in Whitley bay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElliotandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was looking for somewhere to stay last minute and not having much luck, I eventually found sandsbrook and I couldn't have asked for them to be more helpful! They let me have a room there and then, charged me minimal rates and upgraded me to the large family room for no extra cost just because it was vacant. They were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and i was made to feel welcome. The location is also perfect, just around the corner from the nightlife but far enough away for it to be very quiet and peaceful in the rooms.
Overall it was clean, tidy, excellent value for money and very friendly, I'm already booking to go back twice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleigh1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 9 in Whitley Bay
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Lighthouse Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Whitley Bay
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandsides Guest House
Sandsides Guest House
#2 of 23 in Whitley Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandsbrook Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandsbrook Guest House

Property: Sandsbrook Guest House
Address: 6 Brook Street, Whitley Bay NE26 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandsbrook Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing