We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 24 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“best guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

jerry and Margaret have the best guest house in the North east
they are very good hots and give you excellent accommodation at realistic prices and the breakfasts are simply the best
fully endorse it and would if needed to not hesitate to stay again and recommend to friends etc
absolutely enjoyed my stay
big thank you
kev and Ben

Room Tip: all rooms have en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks very much Kev for your comments
It was a pleasure looking after you and Ben when he stayed
Happy in the end you achieved your goals and look forward to you popping in from time to time to see how you getting on

Take care
Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
57
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Another excellent stay. First stayed in March, just spent another two days with Jerry and Margaret. They are really good hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Jerry sorted us out with two great restaurants, one for each evening: Antonio's (Italian) and the Indian Lounge. Both are highly recommended. Thanks - see you again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
It was lovely to see you both again and really nice to know you enjoyed your stay and happy you returned to us for your subsequent return to The area
We are pleased you enjoyed the restaurants that Jerry recommended
It would be nice to see you again maybe before you settle back into the area
Many kind regards

Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London-UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Jerry and his wife give a real Northern welcome and cannot take too much trouble to help.A comfortable b and b - for thise who apprecaite basiccomfort and good food.A moment from the sea -I'd recommend a walk to Cullercoats before breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_UKGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you your comments as they are always appreciated and we like to think we can implement any improvements if needed
Pleased you enjoyed the surrounding coastal sites
Kind regards
Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. Can't fault it. Exactly what we needed. Good location - both for the sea and the Metro.
Excellent hosts. Jerry couldn't have been more friendly or more helpful. Sorted two good restaurants for us and offered lots of information about the area.
The room (1), was good, en suite, very comfortable bed and the largest TV I've ever watched!
I'd certainly recommend "The Lighthouse".

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you Kate, it was a pleasure having you and your friend staying at the Guesthouse
We are pleased you were happy with our recommendations for the restaurants
Is always nice to know guests were happy with their room and the facilities therein
We look forward to seeing you again when next in the area
Kind regards
Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I've been staying at The Lighthouse for 4 days now and seriously cannot fault it at all. I stayed in room 4 and although a bit small it had everything I needed. The room was clean, the bed super comfy and a nice LCD TV with built in DVD . I have to give a mention to the owners Gerry and Margaret. Probably 2 of the best people I have ever met in my life. Always smiling and take time to talk to you. I would recommend The Lighthouse to anyone staying in Whitley Bay.

Like the ad says come as a guest and leave as a friend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you Mark
It is always nice to receive a guest's comments (they ensure we are doing a good job and always take on any feedback)
It was a pleasure having you staying at the Guesthouse and look forward to accommodating you when you next in the area
Take care
Kind regards
Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed in room # 3 in October, 2013, and it was a magnificent room! The only thing that oushined the room was the thoughtfulness and helpfulness of the innkeeper! In addition, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious! I would definitely stay again! Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Room # 3 was absolutely fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you Julie for your kind response we were really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your lovely comments on the room and also that you enjoyed your breakfast
We try hard to ensure our guests are looked after would look forward to you visiting us again
Take care and kind regards to your sister and her fiancé
Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were at the Lighthouse Guesthouse for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jerry and Margaret were the perfect hosts, very welcoming, friendly, helpful and attentive; We enjoyed the morning chats during breakfast and Jerry also gave us a lot of helpful information about places of interest to visit. Our room (no: 3) was very clean and comfortable, well equipped with all modern amenities.

The best assets of Lighthouse Guesthouse are Jerry and Margaret - their genuine warm friendly hospitality is the shining beacon that makes this Lighthouse a very special place. We hope to return next year. Thank you.

Prathiba and Narendra

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prathiba27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much Prathiba and Narendra
Your comments were really nice and it was our pleasure accommodating you at our guesthouse
We like to chat to our guests at breakfast (especially Jerry) and like to know they are going to have a good day and how the visit is going and if there is anything we can do to to help
We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 11 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 11 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Guesthouse

Property: Lighthouse Guesthouse
Address: 20 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast with free wifi, free parking, also a small bar; not far to town centre and transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lighthouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing