We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“EXCELLENT!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

It's been my third stay at the Lighthouse, and would come back again and would recommend to others. It's very clean with lots of facilities and Gerry and Margaret are very accommodating hosts! Gerry continues to keep the rooms up to date with new en suites in the rooms. The bar down stairs is always well stocked with a large variety of drinks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyAustin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
61
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I completed the Coast to Coast bike ride with 2 mates ending in Tynemouth. Booked in with Jerry at the Lighthouse and it was a great decision. Really warm welcome, clean and spacious room with all techno gadgets required. Amazing breakfast and great value for money. Jerry is working really hard on making The Lighthouse the best B & B in Whitley Bay and I think he has achieved this. Thanks for wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citytilidierussb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

You can see the enthusiasm and deduction in every room, conversation and minute in the hotel! Would recommend to any family, couples (lovely top floor room) and large parties!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theeptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
thanks very much for your kind comments, it was a pleasure having you in our guest house.
look forward to seeing you again some time in the near future

again many thanks, always appreciated

Jerry and Margaret
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My stags and I had a fantastic stay!
Gerry the owner made sure it was a great weekend and would do anything to help , Gerry makes sure from day 1 that you are comfortable and feel at home and keeps the bar well stocked !
Im missing my stay at the Lighthouse Guesthouse already and im making plans to head back for another stay .
I can honestly say I went as a guest but left as a friend and will keep in touch with Gerry and Margaret and hope to see them again soon

Kenny Pitkeathly - stag weekend 31st May - 3rd June

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyp1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hi Kenny

thank you for nice comments on trip advisor, it was a real pleasure having your stag party at the Lighthouse, we look forward to seeing you all again and your partners
also, thank you for taking Jerry paint balling, he has never been the same since (Margaret says)

kind regards to all of you

Jerry and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

really friendly and helpfull people and the accomodation was excellent

would certainly reccomend and visit again when im in the area

thanks gerry and margaret

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouseWhitleybay, Owner at Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much Tony for your kind comments, it was a pleasure looking after you for your short stay here in Whitley Bay. Pleased you enjoyed the accommodation that I recommended for the rest of your holiday. Hope to see you back here soon. Kind regards
Jerry and Margaret
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed during a Coast and castles bike ride with wife and 2 friends. Gerry was very welcoming and made sure all our needs were met during our stay. B and B is ideally situated for the ride, and we were able to store the bikes in the back yard. Breakfast excellent. Rooms are a little on the small side but good value, and far enough away from the main area to get a good sleep. Would use it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here after relationship break down jerry and margret excellent hosts freindly
And fun .would recommend to any one wanting good hospitality I would definitely go back I worked early so missed breakfast jerry made packlunch in place cheers jerry ya c star :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#3 of 10 in Whitley Bay
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 10 in Whitley Bay
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
York House Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#9 of 10 in Whitley Bay
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 10 in Whitley Bay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Guesthouse

Property: Lighthouse Guesthouse
Address: 20 North Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast with free wifi, free parking, also a small bar; not far to town centre and transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lighthouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing