We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break”
Review of Park Lodge Hotel

Park Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I spent easter weekend at the park lodge and we couldn't fault it great location spacious room breakfast cooked freshly to your taste and owner Liz couldn't do enough for you would highly recomend you pay it a visit when in the area I will Linda G

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
35
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am a regular traveler in the UK and have experienced some excellent hotels and others, which can be best described as grossly overrated. The Park Lodge Hotel (selected at short notice off the internet) based on it's location, quality of room, cleanliness, price and freshly cooked breakfast, certainly rates as one of the best. The friendly owner Liz, went to great lengths to ensure our 4 day Easter break was stress free and very enjoyable. I recommend this hotel with confidence and it is top of my list next time I need a hotel in the area.

Jim B..... Twickenham

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged then request a ground floor room. All rooms have the same tasteful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCarty, Owner at Park Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Both me and my partner stayed at this B and B with my mother. We booked two rooms which were fantastic. Liz was most helpful and a top class host. We all enjoyed our overnight stay in a superb bed and breakfast which was absolutely clean comfortable with excellent facilities. The location was superb and we would all recommend this to anyone visiting Whitley Bay. The breakfast was wonderful. Thank you so much Liz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCarty, Owner at Park Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently visited the area at very short notice on business and found park lodge on the Internet. I have stayed at many hotels around the country with mixed results this place was a real find. The owner Liz was very welcoming and extremely helpful making me most welcome. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. if you are visiting Whitley bay take my advice and book here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizCarty, Owner at Park Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Liz is the consumate hostess. The rooms are clean and comfortable and she would go out of her way to do things for you. She is genuinely interested in what you are doing but doesnt impose herself. You eat in the dining area of her lounge. The food is excellent, as are Quinn and Mitchell her grand children. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in WhitleyBay, Tynemouth or Cullercoats. She is by far and away the best. The effects of the flood are over and she is fully open again.

Room Tip: Room facing park gets afternoon and evening sun. Little traffic noise. HUGE BATHROOM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I work away from home occasionally and as a woman travelling alone, have to find friendly and comfortable places to stay. The Park Lodge B&B was lovely and clean, had a beautiful bathroom and a very warm and friendly landlady. Breakfast was great as guests are seated at a large table instead of alone at isolated tables. This encourages conversation between guests and breakfast becomes a nice sociable event instead of a lonely chore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnicle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

There is a lot of competition in Whitley Bay, and I am sure many others are good but we would always stay here and would highly recommend it.We were on the Castles and Beaches cycle trip and were very warmly welcomed, the bikes safely stored and given fresh milk without asking for it. We had asked for a quiet room so we were on the back, the room was small but was very comfy with good bed and linen and quiet. Breakfast was excellent with homemade marmalade and no silly little pots of things. Excellent freshly cooked and very good bread. All this and only just recovering from terrible floods. This was one of the best nights of our trip, and one of the most reasonable. Some smarter places could do with a few lessons from Liz and Jill and up their game.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank difficultoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.1 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 9 in Whitley Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Hotel

Property: Park Lodge Hotel
Address: 158-160 Park Avenue, Whitley Bay NE26 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitley Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitley Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Whitley Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Whitley Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Whitley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing