We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cheap but very cheerful”
Review of Sambuca

Sambuca
Ranked #38 of 149 Restaurants in Whitley Bay
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family friendly Italian restaurant in the heart of Whitley Bay. We pride ourselves on amazing food, at affordable prices.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very cheap but very cheerful”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you want a quick cheap and very tasty lunch in Whitley Bay look no further than Sambuca.
In an upstairs premises which may have been an old cinema ? you can enjoy the cheapest of lunches at £3.95 for 3 courses. I had skins + seafood spaghetti and a coffee. The staff were excellent and the food was really good. Fast service and always smiling , the staff were a credit to the restaurant.
It's also a lovely room with lots of interesting sculptures and decoration.
Will definitely call in again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    84
    33
    17
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

What has happened to Sambuccas Whitley Bay. We have eaten here since it opened but tonight have had a really poor meal. My son and I had mussels (as we always do ). Tonight the portions were half the size as usual. Our main courses were equally disappointing - my pasta marinara was little more than a dish of pasta and my sons pizza was incredibly small. We had the same food at West Moor a fortnight ago and there was no comparison. We were surprised to be told that there was no need to book - and in fact for a Friday night there were quite a few empty tables. perhaps other people are voting with their feet - we won't be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Marjorie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A CHANGE FOR THE BETTER”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

just visited sambuca whitley bay after 1 year, and what a change and this change is for the better,
the staff are really polite, the atmosphere has totally changed to a much more relaxing, when a year ago it was like sitting in a airport lounge, the food is really good and nicely presented, we never felt rushed as in some fairly busy restaurants, We normally would go to sambuca on the fish quay but decided to try this one in whitley bay, and this visit was defo not disappointed.

I do believe they have definatly worked hard to turn this sambuca around very well done to all the staff, and we will be comming back more often now, really pleased we gave sambuca whitley bay another try

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“18th birthday”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited the restaurant in April as part of my sons birthday celebration's.
The restaurant was really busy on that Friday night, but the service was great, the food was good and the price fantastic, I would really recommend Sambuca's for a cheap but good night out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazzaNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Brill decor ,atmosphere and staff. Food great quick service if you want enjoyed everything nice wine .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambuca also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
 
Consett, County Durham
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing