We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aald Northville Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Whitley Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here just for the one night four girls on a hen night. Perfect location. Owners really friendly. Nice rooms with en suite bathroom and canny breakfast. Best bnb we have stayed in at whitley bay. Thankyou very much :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Aald Northville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have recently stayed here and found the nightlife of the surrounding area not a problem at all, in fact I felt the area was welcoming which fitted in great with the hotel. The staff are lovely and we're really helpful. The rooms are nice and cosy. Actually the whole place is a well organised, friendly atmosphere and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed as a solo traveller and found the area a bit daunting with all the night clubs and people hanging around. The room was ok however you could hear the conversation of the people next door. The sad thing was I was woken at 2am by my neighbours coming back. The two mates had a fight and this went on for over an hour. One man, who was very drunk even banged on my door a few times which did frighten me.
The owners did provide me with private parking which was very appreciative but the experience wasn't great

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliem2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked the Aald for a long weekend and were a bit surprised when we arrived that the actual building we'd be staying in was round the corner as the owner told us that there was a group of lads booked in and it was so we got peace. Not a problem to be honest as it was clean and quiet with a nice big room which although wasn't the ritz, was adequate for our weekend stay. The proprietors were very friendly and probably the shining light of our weekend in Whitley bay as the town is very very rundown looking with lots of boarded up shops and pubs. Breakfast was nice and set us up for the day and the proprietor was able to recommend places to go and see including the excellent indoor market in Tynemouth Metro station - well worth a visit.

The saving grace of this area is the people. They are so friendly and so accommodating. Its such a shame that the town has seen better days as it looks like in years past it had been a fantastic resort.

I have to say i've never seen so many restaurants and takeaways in the one place though.

Would we visit again. Unfortunately no! Not due to the hotel, due to the fact we were scratching our heads thinking about places to go as there really isn't much to do anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Des H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JON B, Owner at Aald Northville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

There are indeed three bars on the street closed during refurbishment but there stag and hen bars these are middle aged people with two dogs in tow they struck us as the sort of people who would visit places of interest in the area light house ,restaurants ,fish quay ,roman wall ,Newcastle quay etc etc all of these places still exist I can't honestly see them wanting to watch pole dancers on the strip. Their comment mentions the room not being the Ritz of course it isn't as they didn't book or pay ritz prices what they got was a large newly decorated room with ensure ,tea and coffee making facilities ,and a fridge in the annex to the rear of our property which we reserve for workers , singles and couples so as not to mix them with groups as they can be noisy and I have to say it works a treat .after reading the section regarding our facilities I have to say I think we received a lower than average mark not because of our establishment but because of the refurbishments on the street it's not our doing guys you have to mark the hotel not the area that's a totally separate thing and out of our control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for great north run with wife and daughter nice cosy rooms, safe and secure.close to all amenities. Would stay again and recommend. Breakfast was great . free WiFi . all in all a good stay

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to limit noise from near by discos
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattdamjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just spent 4 days in this B&B and could not fault the accomadation, prices ,food or hospitality shown to us, nothing was to much trouble and with a central location for shops and resturants could not have been better. Would definatley recommend and return ,
thank you for a lovely stay .

Carol and Nora

Room Tip: the rooms in the McGregor House were brill with a shared dining room and kitchen if you you wanted t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Highly recommended. Rooms were clean, well maintained and airy. Staff are friendly and welcoming and cannot seem to do enough to help you. Thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Northville and hope to return if the chance arises.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitley Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 10 in Whitley Bay
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#10 of 10 in Whitley Bay
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cara Guesthouse
The Cara Guesthouse
#5 of 23 in Whitley Bay
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Guesthouse
Lighthouse Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Whitley Bay
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Metropolitan
The Metropolitan
#1 of 10 in Whitley Bay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aald Northville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aald Northville Hotel

Address: 23 South Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 2RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Whitley Bay
Price Range: $32 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aald Northville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aald Northville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing