We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Reviewed July 20, 2014

At first we drove past this hotel as it's situated between an Italian Restaurant and a bar/club but turns out it's all part of the same place! Parked out front no problem, although seems there are only a few spaces so I would imagine there's a possibility for on-street parking. I had called ahead to ask if we could check in earlier at 11.30am as we were driving up from Derbyshire and this was no problem. On arrival we were met by friendly young lady on reception and showed to to our room which was lovely with big windows and lovely sea view, lovely clean bathroom and all seemed fine, until my partner sat on the bed and it promptly collapsed!! We alerted reception and within 10 min a maintenance guy arrived and took the bed apart only to tell us the previous guests appeared to have taken some of the fixtures ha ha! Anyway we were given another room immediately and I actually liked this one better as it was near to the breakfast room and main hall and also better (if even possible as it's all great) view of St Mary's lighthouse. Same spacious type room, big bed, sturdy this time, bed was too soft for me though, but that's personal. Spotless clean room and bathroom, shower cubicle was a tad small but lots of nice clean towels and toiletries. Lots of tea and coffee and even bottles of water. The room was fairly quiet considering it was on a main road along the front and we had no noise from the restaurant or bar. The only time it was noisy was early in the morning when there were quite a few doors slamming and noise outside the room....no idea what it was. We had a takeaway Chinese from place two doors up which was very nice and convenient. The hotel has a snack/drinks machine on 1st floor if so required and of course the bar for refreshments downstairs but we didn't use this facility. The breakfast was great, so much choice and all laid out nicely in buffet style, lots of different items for cooked breakfast and continental breakfast as well as pastries, various juices, cereals and porridge. Staff served coffee and tea and toast and nothing was too much to ask. Friendly and efficient at all times I felt very relaxed at this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms at the front of the property, room 4 and 10 because you get sea view and big spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank nrem511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 424 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

On our four weeks in England, we planned to stay here one long afternoon and night to recuperate before heading to Scotland. We were exhausted, so we grateful for our large, very comfortable room with a full sea view and a super comfortable sofa, where we collapsed (turn the sofa around to face the big bay window). There's a busy street below, but it was never a problem as from the sofa all we saw were the waves crashing against a wide promenade where people were walking on a breezy Easter Sunday. Our room was clean, roomy, and extremely quiet all afternoon and night. The bed was super comfortable. Parking could be a bit of a problem, but we luckily got a space near the door. Breakfast was a cut above - a Full English with lots of choices in a pleasant room. I highly recommend the attached Italian restaurant Davanti's for dinner, where we had an exceptional meal. Sooooo, this lovely place met all our needs and then some. We couldn't believe the affordable price. A place like this in California would cost a LOT more.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a full sea view and comfortable sofa. Perfect and quiet during our stay. Large bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights. Friday night ate next door at the Italian restaurant, which was good. Seaview room was amazing, spacious and fabulous. The second night proved to be noisy as there is a club next door. Breakfast was good with a wide choice but not able to offer different types of milk or gluten, wheat free food. Parking is difficult as very few spaces at the front of the hotel. If you park in a side street be careful to check parking details - some are permits and some you need to move your car by 9am! The hotel is within walking distance of the town but the sea is great and on the whole clean.

Room Tip: Ask for Rm 10 - its sea facing, large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackTulip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a sea view on a thursday night and enjoyed a good night's sleep. Whitley Bay was quiet on the night we stayed and proved a good choice because the Italian restaurant next door proved to be good value. There are only a few parking spaces in front of the hotel which were taken when we arrived but you can park in the streets nearby after 6pm and before 9am in morning although we moved into a hotel parking slot later in the evening. The hotel is a maze of corridors and we had to shift two heavy cases upstairs and through several doors. I'm sure if we had asked help would have been forthcoming.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The noise from the Noir drinks bar is unbelievably loud and i have partial hearing loss in 1 ear. I am in room 6 and can hear every word of 'Summer Nights' and people singing along to it!!!!! Not happy. Reception were lovely at just before 9 and got music turned down but here at 22.20 it's back and now it's Michael Jackson. No matter how clean it is and how good breakfast turns out to be I won't stay here again unless I am planning a late night out to miss the racket.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4evaLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3nites in room 10.room bit tired lookin and needs updating but the view makes up for it.nice quiet even though looks onto main room.lovely breakfast with lots of choice.loved the tapas bar meals and the local talent show was on one of the nites we stayed.would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank debbi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Served in the Noir restaurant, my mum and I were served a lovely afternoon tea today (even using a groupon voucher). We were offered a great choice of both sandwiches and scones (nice to get a choice) with a lovely selection of mini cakes. Quality was high and the tea was twinnings - always good. The only slight downside was the dark decor, more aimed at evening guests than girly afternoon tea, but easily overlooked.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#3 of 9 in Whitley Bay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 9 in Whitley Bay
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
York House Hotel & Apartments
2.8 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 13-17 East Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range: $67 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing