We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic surprise! - AMAZING Breakfast and REALLY good value for Money!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute using Late Rooms, and to be honest i didn't have very high expectations.... however from the second i opened the door i was IMPRESSED! This is a beautiful hotel, that has everything that you could want. Beautiful Rooms, with great beds and bath rooms, that are modern and stylish.
The hotel has a lovely Italian restaurant and fabulous bar onsite!
And then when you think you couldn't really be happier with the experience you get to the breakfast room! Food and Service fabulous!!

Overall a brilliant stay with fantastic VALUE FOR MONEY!!

The only downside I would say is the limited parking onsite, however there is a quiet side street with plenty of parking.

Room Tip: We stayed in room three, it didn't have a sea view but was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieAmy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 422 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights one weekend in May and had a great stay.
The room was one at the front of the hotel with a sea view. It was very spacious with a seating area, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. The bed was comfortable with nice bedding. Tea and coffee making facilities included hot chocolate and a few biscuits.
All the staff were friendly and efficient. Check-in was easy and we were lucky enough to find a parking space outside the hotel for which we were given a 'Hotel Parking' sign for the car.
Breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice of buffet style offering. The tables were a little cramped in the small room, but on the first morning we pretty much had it to ourselves so not a problem. The ladies dealing with breakfast were happy, friendly and efficient. Fried eggs were cooked to order.
I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've spent few weeks in The Royal Hotel and I can strongly recommend this place for everyone who is looking for comfortable accommodation at a good price. I especially like very friendly and helpful staff. They are always ready to help you if you need anything. The hotel is clean, tidy and nice furnished. Food which is served for a breakfast and dinner is very varied and everyone should be satisfied. Wireless internet connection, which wasn't very strong has been recently changed for wire network and it works perfectly. If you have a lazy afternoon, try to take a walk along the beach - the hotel is located in a really nice area, just next to the coast, with beautiful view for a lighthouse. In the summer time you will find a fairground nearby. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs around as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SzymonG356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well worth the £55 for two people. Amazing value. The hotel was lovely and clean and the service impeccable. The food at the adjoining Italian Restaurant was superb and the service top notch. I only wish we could have enjoyed a drink in the adjoining bar (with live music) but we had photographic work the next day (Saturday). We had a lovely walk along the beach and took some great seascapes. The beach is interesting (pebbles, sand and limestone) in nostalgic sort of way.
If I had to pick a criticism it would be that the mattress was a little too soft for our liking and the duvet a bit skimpy.
The 'help yourself' breakfast bar was extremely comprehensive and even included a cold meat buffet as well as full English/continental/fresh fruit etc. Like the restaurant, the standards were high. The service was, again, very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Myself and partner had a long weekend at the Royal. We were made very welcome, our room had a sea view, it was clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly, always had a smile and nothing was to much trouble.
We had a very good high quality breakfast, continental or full english. with cereal, fruit and yoghurt to choose from.
The entertainment in the modern hotel bar was good with a nice atmosphere.
It was our first time in Whitley Bay and we would definately recommend the hotel and area as we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staff very welcoming and attentive.
Breakfast unrivalled.
.
As a solo traveller you are not overlooked during your visit to the North East a delightful stay at such a warm and welcoming Hotel.
Highly recommended. 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ruth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels due to my job and The Royal Hotel is by far the best..
Staff are very friendly, clean rooms, good bathrooms and the sea front location, brilliant.
Well Impressed 5 star in my book

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordie1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitley Bay
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chedburgh Hotel
The Chedburgh Hotel
#8 of 9 in Whitley Bay
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaktree Lodge
Oaktree Lodge
#2 of 9 in Whitley Bay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Whitley Bay
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 52
Hotel 52
#7 of 9 in Whitley Bay
97 reviews
3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 13-17 East Parade, Whitley Bay NE26 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whitley Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Whitley Bay
Price Range: $66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing