We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place to stay 5 star”
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property. Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property.
Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
The Sunset seen from Red Gap Cottage.
Living Room.
Living Room.
Living room.
Writing Desk.
Dining area.
Kitchen.
Fully fitted modern kitchen with Neff oven & microwave.
Utility room with Bosch washer and dishwasher.
Bedroom number 1 with 2 single beds. Can be joined to be 1 Kingsize by previous request.
Bedroom number 2 with double bed.
Bedroom No 3 with 2 single beds
Modern bathroom with twin handbasins, bath with shower & seperate walk in shower.
3D plan of Red Gap Cottage.
Castle Rushen, Castletown Square.
View of Castletown Outer Harbour
Castletown Tin Bath Races.
Steam train at Castletown Station
Silverburn walk in Castletown.
Castletown Band playing at the Southern Show.
Red Gap Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletown, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
socks43
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay 5 star”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well what can I say, from the moment of enquiry to booking and staying Kim the owner was first class nothing was too much trouble. An amazing cottage to stay in everything you could possibly need for your stay, even a wonderful welcome pack with wine included fantastic. Loved it we have an autistic son who also loved it and settled really quickly, it was spacious clean with comfy beds and a lovely bathroom with full size bath overlooking the countryside towards the sea. Also a full size shower too so your choice. Will definitely be returning we had an amazing holiday. Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7LizzieJ1...
1 review
“Perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Castletown is a lovely place for a holiday.Staying at Red Gap Cottage meant that we had a very comfortable base to return to after day trips out.The local public transport is reliable and frequent,and there are bus stops very close to the cottage.There is nothing negative I could say about the cottage as it is spotlessly clean and well equipped.There is everything,and more,in the cottage to make it the perfect home from home.Thanks for a great holiday Kim!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“WONDERFUL COTTAGE”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Red gap cottage was a perfect place to stay for your holiday in the Isle of Man. Cottage is very clean, comfortable.very well equipped with a beautiful views. Kim is lovely and very efficient at responding to e mail. We have received a warm welcome even if our ferry arrived at 04h30 instead of 18h40. Thank you Kim. Don't look for another cottage you have found the best one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in lovely location. Home from home.”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Red Gap(p) cottage is a beautiful cottage which is spotlessly clean, very well maintained and with lots of thoughtful touches throughout. It is situated a few minutes walk into Castletown. The property is tastefully decorated and furnished with a large fully equipped kitchen including loads of glasses, good quality crockery, plentiful pans, cooking equipment and utensils. There is a large separate utility room with a second fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and clothes airer . Items such as shoe cleaning materials, dishwasher tablets etc provided. There is also a toilet and handbasin on the ground floor. In addition there is a practical "cloakroom" area with a coatstand, umbrella and understairs storage area. Outside at the rear is a large practical garden area (no grass, just chippings) with a bench table and a couple of chairs to enjoy the evening sun. This can also be accessed from down the side of the house. The lounge area has a comfortable leather 3 piece suite and feature fireplace with wood burning stove (which can't be lit). The adjacent dining area has a very attractive dining table and 4 chairs and writing desk. There is an extensive collection of DVDs, books and games. Upstairs there are three good sized bedrooms, two with two single beds and one with a double. All were comfortable with good quality bedding and storage space. The bathroom was very attractive with two handbasins, toilet, a full bath and a large shower cubicle - all spotlessy clean. The owner, Kim, provides good quality and plentiful toiletries. She has an eye for detail with considerate touches throughout the house such as a basket with free extra toiletries you may have forgotten. Beach towels were provided.

They say that you only get one chance to make a good impression, well Kim and Red Gap certainly did that. Her friendly, helpful and comprehensive initial greeting was excellent. A vase of fresh flowers and the extensive "welcome pack" which included such goodies as bread, local Manx butter, fresh fruit, tea, coffee, milk, jams and wine etc all contributed to the good feeling the place has.

Finally, apologies to anyone reading this if there is an annoying red line under the latter part of the review. I have no idea why this is so - I've probably accidentally caught a wrong key when typing and I don't know how to correct it :-) Anyway, I hope this was helpful and enjoy Red Gap Cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great cottage and place to stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just had a 4 night break at Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, what a great location close to most of the ports with views of the cost and just a walk to the airport for those who fly. The cottage was perfect for us and so well equipped. I was pleasantly surprised that there was a downstairs cloakroom and pedestrian access to the gardens from the side of the cottage for the mobility scooter.
This cottage had a real home from home feel and very close to Castletown with local shops for most of your needs. Great handover from the owner Kim with time spent explaining all those need to know things. we love the island and will be booking again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R
Selfoss, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Quality Confortable Cottage in Attractive Town”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have rented many houses and are often let down by some detail or other, usually uncomfortable mattresses or lack of cleanliness. This cottage exceeded expectations and rates as one of, if not the best we have stayed in. Right from the booking enquiry, the owner was prompt with responses and attentive to requirements. She welcomed us personally which is a rarity these days. The house was impeccably clean, quiet and comfortable.
It is a very minor point but it is a shame that we were advised not to light the wood burner. Although it wasn't needed as the heating system is so good, we like a cosy fire of an evening. The owner explained that it had potential to cause mess which we respected. The back garden has potential to be a very nice sitting area but is a bit sterile. Again, we understand that this keeps maintenance down and is easier to keep to standard but a shame nevertheless.
The lovely town and harbour are within easy walking distance from the cottage or a very short drive with parking at all town amenities. Very pleasing and interesting town.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo b
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Red gap cottage is outstanding. We were greeted with a short welcome tour and really appreciated the food essentials that had been supplied and the beautiful vase of fresh flowers! The cottage is cosy and equipped with everything that might be needed, the standard of which was excellent. I'm quite pernickety and often clean everything as soon as I arrive; didn't need to do this at Red Gap. I would heartily recommend this property and not hesitate to re-book.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing