We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Half Term Hoilday”
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property. Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property.
Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
The Sunset seen from Red Gap Cottage.
Living Room.
Living Room.
Living room.
Writing Desk.
Dining area.
Kitchen.
Fully fitted modern kitchen with Neff oven & microwave.
Utility room with Bosch washer and dishwasher.
Bedroom number 1 with 2 single beds. Can be joined to be 1 Kingsize by previous request.
Bedroom number 2 with double bed.
Bedroom No 3 with 2 single beds
Modern bathroom with twin handbasins, bath with shower & seperate walk in shower.
3D plan of Red Gap Cottage.
Castle Rushen, Castletown Square.
View of Castletown Outer Harbour
Castletown Tin Bath Races.
Steam train at Castletown Station
Silverburn walk in Castletown.
Castletown Band playing at the Southern Show.
Red Gap Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletown, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
boilers20...
Castletown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Half Term Hoilday”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

First Class just like been at Home.
The welcome pack of Milk, Coffee Tea, etc just what you need when you come in Early in the Morning.
Having great Beds & Warm Hse 1st Class.
Bath Room Clean and Smart.
Utility Room got all you need .
Walking Distance to Swimming Pool & Town Center where you have a good choice of Coffee Bars and Restaurants & Bars.
Bus Service to Douglas & Down to Port Erin & Port St Mary Good

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisatams
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing, extremely high quality beautiful Manx cottage”
Reviewed January 25, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Arrived Christmas eve until 2nd January 2017. I was our second stay at the cottage and it was as fantastic as we remembered it to be from the first visit.
The quality of the accommodation is outstanding; Kim is lovely, welcoming and very friendly.
The facilities are top quality and the location is perfect, and the view from the rear of the cottage is priceless.
We're already planning our next stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sensei40
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“idyllic, comfy cosy cottage”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Kim, we were welcomed into the property then shown around. Everything we needed to know regarding heating lighting and how to use the utensils was explained to us even down to the little wind up torches in every room for just in case of an emergency. The cottage was very clean and had everything you could imagine in the kitchen including a very generous welcome pack of essentials,. there was a down stairs WC , a cloakroom and a very comfy three piece leather suite in the lounge area also a nice dinning table and four chairs.The three bedrooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable, bedroom 1 had a super-king bed there was also plenty of storage for your clothes . Bedroom 2 had a double bed and bedroom three had two single beds. Kim has obviously sat down and thought of every thing you could possibly need regarding your needs to make your stay comfortable. We will be looking for an available date for next years break as this was ideal for us. the walk to the town is about 7-10 mins depending on how fast you walk. there are a couple of places to eat out in the evening if you only fancy something a stroll away the Asian cuisine was gorgeous and there was also an Italian that you would need to book. Kim also got us a local parking disc that proved handy in a few areas. There is a table and benches and also two seats that we put to good use in the rear yard, the sunsets were beautiful and i took several photos of them,. Many thanks to Kim for everything she did for us and see you soon next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy homely feel
Liked least: leaving on our last day
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemedlan...
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Like home from home, but near the Sea,with excellent public travel links - brilliant”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were met in Castletown & guided to the cottage-what a personal welcome, Once shown around the very clean & spacious property we had our first cuppa/glass of wine from the welcome pack sat in the back yard in the sun - who could want a better welcome. As an extended family we had people of all ages/abilities-bus stop every 20mins or so outside the front door to Castletown/Douglas or further at really reasonable prices.
Our one concern when booking was the parking, it may look tight at the front of the property we had a car, trike & 3 bikes outside comfortably.
We will certainly look to book again when coming to the island-many many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was like home from home, great place
Liked least: We had not found in previous years to rent, so handy for everywhere,travel wise.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
121BelleB
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fourth year at Red Gap Cottage - it just gets better”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Returning to Red Gap for our fourth visit is like coming home as the cottage has such a welcoming feel and has everything and more that you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday. Kim always welcomes her guests personally and the welcome pack is very useful, so no need to rush out food shopping as soon as you arrive. The information supplied about the island is very useful and the fresh flowers and fruit in the cottage also adds to the feeling of homeliness. The bathroom is a delight, being large and very well appointed with the added attraction of the "loo with the view". We hope to be back again in 2017 for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreamcd...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house for a week's holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Red Gap cottage is equipped with everything we needed for a lovely stay on the Isle of Man giving my sister and I, our husbands and our Dad the perfect opportunity for a family holiday. Kim gave us a great welcome when we arrived. The house is quiet and only a 10 minute level walk into the centre of Castletown which has 2 supermarkets, restaurants/takeaways and other shops (don't miss the fabulous castle and the House of Keys). We also walked on the public footpath behind the cottage to the coast (great views over south of island). The cottage had a comprehensive supply of tourist information which meant we could plan our days and experience the best of the island, a good selection of DVD's and tea/coffee/food for our first breakfast. We would definitely stay again if we return to Isle of Man.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rclooker
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice house, just a short walk from the town centre”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a lot of time touring the Island, the best thing was the view from the summit of South Barrule on a clear evening. House was clean and comfy. Enjoyed eating out at The Curry Club and Leonardos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: garden, dim lights in living room
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing