We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property. Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property.
Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
The Sunset seen from Red Gap Cottage.
Living Room.
Living Room.
Living room.
Writing Desk.
Dining area.
Kitchen.
Fully fitted modern kitchen with Neff oven & microwave.
Utility room with Bosch washer and dishwasher.
Bedroom number 1 with 2 single beds. Can be joined to be 1 Kingsize by previous request.
Bedroom number 2 with double bed.
Bedroom No 3 with 2 single beds
Modern bathroom with twin handbasins, bath with shower & seperate walk in shower.
3D plan of Red Gap Cottage.
Castle Rushen, Castletown Square.
View of Castletown Outer Harbour
Castletown Tin Bath Races.
Steam train at Castletown Station
Silverburn walk in Castletown.
Castletown Band playing at the Southern Show.
Red Gap Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletown, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Malmonthe...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Red Gap Cottage for the Southern 100 races and what a PERFECT location. Only a 2 minute walk away from the grand stand and paddock! There is parking at the front of the cottage on the road but don't let this put you off! I thought this would bother us as there was no actual drive but the road is wide enough for it not to affect other vehicles and there are cones so that you can save your parking if needed - we didn't really need to use them at all even during race week.
The cottage is located only a 5 minute walk from the town which was perfect for nipping to the Indian or pub of an evening.
Kim met us at the cottage when we arrived and showed us around. Her attention to detail is brilliant. There were fresh flowers, chocolate biscuits, tea bags, toilet roll and much much more. There is a basket in the bathroom which contains all the little bits and bobs that you could perhaps forget to pack which was extremely useful to us as we forgot our toothbrushes!
The sofas and chairs are so comfortable and the beds were fantastic. In each of the twin bedrooms there is one soft mattress and one hard mattress meaning we had a choice which isn't something we have ever seen before.
There is also a great outside space which really is a sun trap!
The cottage was so clean and I felt bad for cooking fish fingers in the oven as it looked brand new!
We would 100% recommend this cottage not only for the races but for holidays also. There is so much to do around Castletown and the Isle of Man and this cottage is the perfect place to stay.
Thank you Kim for letting us enjoy this fabulous cottage :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and beds!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
895clare
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Experience From Start to Finish”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Red Gap Cottage was the perfect place to stay for our holiday in the Isle of Man. Location is within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and beautiful Castletown Harbour. We found the cottage clean and tidy with fabulous facilities and a lovely private sunny outside area to sit and relax. Comfortable beds, modern bathroom and kitchen.
Thank you Kim, you made our stay very special. From the welcoming package we found when we arrived, to your friendliness and helpfulness throughout. In particular thank you for the trouble you went to researching a question we asked regarding the Manx Steam Railway, resulting in a memorable day which will be a very treasured memory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the facilities and the location
Liked least: Not applicable - loved everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisFoxl...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best place on the Isle of Man a real home from home!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very clean and comfortable cottage to stay in with beautiful views and close to the coast, the decoration and cleanliness of this property is to a very high standard, we all enjoyed our stay and as and when we come back to the Island we would not hesitate to stay here again, absolutely top notch.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meleys
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Had a lovely stay, great location”
Reviewed June 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a lovely stay in Redgap Cottage, has all the amenities you could ever need, is very clean and well presented, we couldn,t have wished for more.
Would definately stay again, Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very efficient key collection, made very welcome
Liked least: Having to leave : ]
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redeman
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Simply the Best'”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We decided the annual fishing trip would be on the Isle of Man, booking a property to accommodate five can sometimes be difficult to say the least ! However 'Red Gap' was ideal for us, well situated, well equipped and spotlessly clean.
Lots of good pubs and cafes so eating out was the order of the week! Fish and chips in Port St Mary really good.
All in all a great place, good food, good beer, friendly locals and we even caught some trout!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbu
2 reviews
“Great cottage - great facilities”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A very comfortable & well-appointed cottage. The welcome pack & other household extras (washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs) made everything very easy too. Kim was very efficient at responding to emails & made it clear she was available to help if any problems arose.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila190...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Perfect Base”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

So much about Red Gapp Cottage is just lovely - it is a characterful Manx cottage that is extremely comfortable and well equipped, and is in a perfect position for enjoying Castletown and the south of the Island. The owner, Kim, is wonderfully welcoming and very responsive to helping with any issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Slightly dark interior (but it is an old cottage), position of dishwasher, back yard
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing