We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and comfortable cottage, very well equipped.”
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property. Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Red Gap Cottage, Castletown, Isle of Man.
Isle of Man Tourist Board 4* and Gold Award property.
Views to Scarlett & Port St Mary from Red Gap Cottage.
The Sunset seen from Red Gap Cottage.
Living Room.
Living Room.
Living room.
Writing Desk.
Dining area.
Kitchen.
Fully fitted modern kitchen with Neff oven & microwave.
Utility room with Bosch washer and dishwasher.
Bedroom number 1 with 2 single beds. Can be joined to be 1 Kingsize by previous request.
Bedroom number 2 with double bed.
Bedroom No 3 with 2 single beds
Modern bathroom with twin handbasins, bath with shower & seperate walk in shower.
3D plan of Red Gap Cottage.
Castle Rushen, Castletown Square.
View of Castletown Outer Harbour
Castletown Tin Bath Races.
Steam train at Castletown Station
Silverburn walk in Castletown.
Castletown Band playing at the Southern Show.
Red Gap Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castletown, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hilary T
1 review
“Clean and comfortable cottage, very well equipped.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Kim met us at the cottage and gave us a comprehensive tour. The welcome pack is generous and the kitchen very well equipped. Everything is comfortable and clean.
The road outside can be a little noisy in the mornings but this is made up for by the convenience of the location - a ten minute walk to the shops and bars in Castletown and a ten minute drive to the airport.
I would recommend staying here and would do so again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneW17
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Red Gap is a picture postcard pretty cottage in a great location. The cottage is clean, well-furnished and is equipped with everything that you may need for a comfortable family self-catering holiday. The Welcome Pack was a lovely and much-appreciated bonus - we all loved the Manx bread. We were staying as a family of 5 to celebrate a special birthday and the owner's restaurant and taxi recommendations were spot on.
Castletown is a really interesting place to explore - there's so much history to discover and some great little places to eat and drink.
All in all a beautiful cottage for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alll good.
Liked least: Everything was good.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean H
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for business and pleasure”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The facilities at the cottage are superb. We were staying on business mixed with a few days of tourism and pleasure. It was handy having a base to work from which did not require set meal times or restrictions offered by other types of accommodation. The cottage is well placed for easy access to other parts of the island. There were plenty of places locally to eat out if we needed to. I would highly recommend this cottage if you are looking for all of the creature comforts of home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy bed
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffodilg...
Bishop's Stortford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best rental so far!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We regularly travel and always prefer to self cater rather than hotels. We have family on the island visit regularly and having lived here know it well so we are not the usual holiday people. We found this gem via www and what a find. We are a couple with high standards and this cottage met every expectation. Kim goes to great lengths to provide a welcome and every small detail is met from a bottle of wine in the fridge to those extras in the bathroom so easily forgotten. We loved the personalised welcome too,! This cottage is so well equipped with so much thought and everything is of the highest standard. We will be booking again. Why would we go anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation and facilities.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancastri...
Carnforth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, lovely location”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red Gap Cottage. It is very well located as a base for the south of the island and yet close enough to Douglas for easy travel to/from the ferry and the Shops and attractions of the capital. Kim, the owner, was helpful throughout the process and very welcoming. Certainly one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in and we'd not hesitate to book again when we return to the island. It is very well furnished and fitted out with virtually everything you'd want, it was exceptionally well maintained and clean, and the views/scenery are excellent.

The only thing we can think of to make it even better would be WIFI in the cottage, as there are few pubs/restaurants in Castletown offering wireless internet and the ones we found tended to be quite busy making it inconvenient trying to keep up with work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and scenery
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome & provisions made holiday start straight away
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing