We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think I have expereinced worse and 1 dot is the lowest allowed!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Castletown B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I don't think I have expereinced worse and 1 dot is the lowest allowed!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Filthy public areas, see photos of the stairs and landing, the ironing board (argh!) and then my room. I am not averse to spiders and know they can't be stopped, but a vacuum, or feather duster quickly removes cobwebs, like the 2' hanger above my bed. The carpet was stained and had not been vacuumed before we arrived, nor was it after a first night. Mr. Cobweb was still there too. The shower head was 'minging', I think an apt description. The single bed was rock hard with springs impacting through the night. Decor - yuck, coffee and cream, with scratches in the paint. Bedding - thinnest duvet I have encountered and 1970s pale blue sheets and cover with a very cheap pattern pillowcase.The whole room - awful. Not worth a penny over ...... a penny.
Downstairs is only a tad better, a rather tired feel and the cobwebs around the front door are working toward being a curtain.
Avoid this place

Room Tip: Look at any other hotel I suggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redkiteuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil and Norma V, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We understand the place is in need of a refurbishment but that is beyond our control. As for your concerns about the room why did you not mention this to us when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
16
44
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This review is purely on the basis of food as we did not stay here. The menu for this place is very uninspiring and I thought dinner was going to be a let-down. Then I spotted the specials board and am so glad I had. The queenies in the tomato salsa were nice, maybe the spice slightly overpowering the delicate taste of the queenies, my pollock and my partners substantial portion of fish and chips from the main menu was spot-on. Friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monktonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on a coastal walk around the Isle of Man. The room itself was comfortable and the en suite was clean and well appointed. However the room was on the first floor where the kitchen of the hotel was also located. The food was transported downstairs from the kitchen down to the restaurant of the pub. Although this didn't really impact on the room itself the stair carpet leading up to the romm would be best decribed as filthy and disgusting,
Ate one meal in the pub. I have to question the pallet of the person who devised the menu. Saw mackerel on the menu and thought that would be simple and tasty. This was a specialty on the board but i didn't notice that this was served with Chorizo. Not surprisingly I couldn't taste the mackerel only the Chili from the Chorizo. Can't recommend this dish.
The good news is there is a restaurant closeby on the square which is very good. This is the place to eat.
As for breakfast - well it was great fun. Straight out of a BBC sitcom. Has to be seen to be believed but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castletown hotels

Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a typical example of the traditional pub that is tired and trying to reinvent itself. The interior is quite dark and dismal, tatty in places, and yes, the usual horrid "pub" smell and everything felt greasy to the touch (tables, chairs, etc). We found none of the staff to be particularly friendly nor helpful - they just did their job. We ate there twice - the second time, we tried to order exactly the same combination for our young son (a slight variation from the set menu), which was no problem for the barman the first time, but the second time, he was a typical unhelpful jobsworth who wouldn't budge from the set menu options (clearly didn't know how to work the till properly!). Both times, when the food came to the table, it wasn't right (difficult to bodge set menu items you'd have thought!). Unfortunately, not much choice for eateries in Castletown - the two pubs near the railway station were even worse! Given it's central and prominent position in the town square, this has the potential for being a really good pub/hotel/restaurant, but the management/staff need to up their game.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnybunnymanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The good: Location, free Wi-Fi and breakfast.

THE BAD: Oh where to start! On entering the main door you are greeted by that all pervasive smell of everything cooked in grease, quite apt really as you are led up the stairs to your rooms following a trail of the aforementioned grease that you stick to with every step! This becomes all too apparent as to why with the kitchen located on the first floor and an even stronger smell of cooking grease. Room 3 is opposite the kitchen and rooms 1 & 2 are too close to this as well. The rooms themselves are reasonably sized with tea and coffee making facilities, sadly the only positives as they are dirty! The bed lined was filthy and the floor appears never to have been cleaned. The bathroom was filthy, dust everywhere and mould in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived on the Friday afternoon for a weekend stay in Castletown and our first impressions of the hotel were not great. We had to check in at the bar, which was full of people who had had plenty to drink, and then wait at the bottom of the stairs to be shown to our rooms. The stair carpet was about the dirtiest I have seen and did not give us great hope for the rooms. Our room was on the first floor and to our relief once you cleared the top of the stairs and onto the landing outside the rooms the carpet looked more acceptable. The room was spacious and generally clean, if not spotless, but certainly ok. The bed turned out to be very comfortable and the shower was good with plenty of hot water. We determined the reason for the terrible stair carpet was that the kitchen was on the first floor and the stairs were a well-trodden route for the food, undoubtedly with a few spillages. Taking into account our poor first impression we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the staff were very friendly and service was good. We can recommend the breakfasts which were a great start to the day. The hotel has free wifi which works well. I would try to avoid staying in room 3 as this is directly opposite the entrance to the kitchen.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 as opposite kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelVisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Some food not bad but hygiene a problem – dirty cutlery, vinegar bottles – also meat pie was interesting – at first, I thought it was a pie in a bowl, only to realise that the ‘bowl’ was actually very thin hard pastry – not very appetising!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletown
4.4 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
239 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
20.8 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
344 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
1.1 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: The Parade, Castletown
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Castletown
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castletown
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Castletown, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing