We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accommodation, good value”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Castletown B&B and Inns
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great accommodation, good value”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We and another couple stayed here while doing the stunning coastal walk, 'The Way of the Gull'. We arrived tired, and good beer and great food without having to go out were exactly what we needed. We had two huge rooms overlooking the square and the castle - probably the best location in any of the IOM towns - and although the decor on the stairs and landing was a bit tired, the rooms were clean and fresh and the bar room was full of interesting stuff. The breakfast was huge and good.They were really relaxed about us quitting our rooms in the morning in keeping with the easy hospitality and welcome and we thought it was great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottohound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil and Norma V, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
17
44
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at The George for 8 nights, room 7 with views directly to the castle. The room was very spacious, clean and tidy.
Management and staff very friendly and most obliging
The bar/hotel itself had a warm welcoming atmosphere
Would recommend anyone to stay and hopefully will revisit in the future

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilVigerstaff, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My partner and i went over to the Isle of Mann to watch the Southern 100 racing and stayed at the George for three nights. The accomodation and food were both excellent and the staff were all extremely helpful. We stayed in room 8, which was really comfortable and clean. The George makes an excellent base to travel around to the rest of the island from and if you're lucky with the weather, as we were, you'll have plenty of fantastic sights to see. Go to Peel...I love it there!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilVigerstaff, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Just returned from a trip to the southern 100 Road races. First time of staying in The George and what a fantastic stay i had. Excellent food from a very extensive menu, good beer, good well kept rooms and fantastic waitress service over a fabulous breakfast.
A huge thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMorgans_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilVigerstaff, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

£25 pppn for large clean room with nice view of castle. £5.50 for lovely relaxed breakfast served by lovely friendly young waitress. Free parking attached. Good central location.

Isle of Man is a lovely island well worth the £18.99 flights with Jet 2! We went up the mountain by tram, saw seals at the calf of Man, walked on coast line, did TT course by car, ate out in pubs etc...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilVigerstaff, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments on to Kathryn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just got back from the IOM tonight - wow!
Loved it - took the Mrs and kids for a two day break. (never been before but always wanted to go!) - even though yesterday was broken sunshine and it rained today we had a brilliant time.
The George is in a fantastic location and you are very central. Transport links are great -we purchased a day explorer £30 for all four of us which gave unlimited access to the busses, horse drawn trams, electric railway and steam railway! -excellent value) - we also explored the medieval castle (directly in front of the hotel) - it was fab! - kids loved every minute of it (age 8 and 10). As for the hotel, superb value, food great, atomosphere great, location great, staff service great, room was great (we got the one with balcony (family room) -really clean and totally above expecation. Breaky was excellent too. Have i got a bad word to day - well you probably gathered no!! - We flew with Flybe from Liverpool (25 mins flight) - so even that was good. Would recommend both the IOM and of course the George - please pass on my thanks to all the staff if you read this review - they were extremely courteous and would do anything. We had a ball!
THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVELLER12345629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilVigerstaff, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed your thanks on to the staff. We look forward to seeing you in the Isle of Man again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This Hotel is well run by Neil & Norma who are aiming high to upgrade with fresh local produce and pleasant service. We saw they had prepared a birthday cake for a customer who was a regular.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank darkieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilVigerstaff, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you in the Isle of Man again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletown
4.4 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
243 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
20.8 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
293 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: The Parade, Castletown
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Castletown
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castletown
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Castletown, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing