We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and tranquility in a perfect setting”
other travelers have booked this property
the front of the cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the front of the cottages
a welcoming complimentary bottle of wine awaits! our beautiful gardens with hidden secrets!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
the front of the cottages
a welcoming complimentary bottle of wine awaits!
our beautiful gardens with hidden secrets!
the lounge
hidden somewhere in the centre of the gardens is the summerhouse!
the lane leading to the cottages
part of the garden!
the kitchen
the comfortable bedroom for a peaceful night's sleep
for a few quiet moments in the study with a view of the fields or gardens
under the pergola!
the treehouse hidden among the leaves!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ramsey, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet H
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in a perfect setting”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our first trip to the Isle of Man and we couldn't have chosen a more idyllic base from which to explore. Close Taggart has been developed by Shirley and John to provide a wonderful retreat for any couple wanting a relaxed holiday. The cottage provides all we needed for our time there and the gardens are a delight with unexpected areas to enjoy around every corner and there are a variety of walks to be enjoyed in the nearby wildlife and wetlands area. We loved it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Lack of a fixed shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
We were so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday on our beautiful Island! Shirley & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBarcroft
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place. Amazing hosts.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

John and Shirley were amazing hosts. The cottage was equip with everything you can think of. A real home from home. We had a fantastic 3 night stay. The grounds are amazing. The location is very out of the way. Great for walkers and people active during the day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We should've stayed for longer, 3 nights wasn't enough! The cottage had everything we needed, it was immaculately clean & the little individual touches from Shirley & john were excellent. The gardens are gorgeous, we loved the tree house, we went up one night in the dark & drank wine by candle light!! Even though the weather was cold (we expected worse for January) the central heating is brilliant, we were always cosy & warm. If you want a quite romantic home from home to base yourselves from while you explore the island then this is it! We intend to stay here again in the summer & make use of the barbecue! We've already recommended close taggart too family & friends. Thank you Shirley & john.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane F
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Little Haven”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful little Haven we found at Close Taggert, and such a warm welcome from Shirley & John. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Walking into the delightful cosy cottage for the first time was like coming home! Although better because someone else had done all the work. We found everything spotlessly clean, and every corner you turned there was another little treat thoughtfully provided to make you feel welcome.

Even though we arrived late after a rather stressful journey we awoke the next morning refreshed and relaxed and thanks to Shirley & Johns generosity we were able to have breakfast without doing any shopping and then get straight out on one of Shirley & Johns well explained walks. We were walking on a beautiful deserted beach within the hour and then strolled back through blissfully peaceful country lanes.

Close Taggert is set in a beautiful tranquil part of the Island and yet it is very easy to get around and explore further afield. Shirley & Johns Gardens are full of interest with some beautiful planting, there is a little surprise around every corner, lots of areas to sit and relax in and the Tree House is a delight.

We would not hesitate to recommend Close Taggert we know you will have a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing