We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend Away”
Review of Ramsey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramsey
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family Weekend Away”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

6 of us enjoyed a family weekend away. The staff were very helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is situated right by the sea. Some bedrooms overlook the sea, the others, the marine lake and park complex to the rear. Both views are very pleasant. The park and lake is very pretty and nice for an early morning walk (or at any other time for that matter). It is a short 15 minute walk into town.

The bedrooms were well presented and clean, the beds large and very comfortable. The room was of a good size with a flat screen freeview TV. There was tea and coffee and biscuits available. The bathroom had a combined bath with shower, although my elderly mother in law found no difficulty getting into the bath to shower. There are good grips to assist in doing so. For my wife and I the only minor annoyance was that the windows only opened a short distance, thus restricting the amount of air entering the room. There was no air conditioning, although this wasn't an issue at that time of year. There was some noise (on the sea side) from some sort of motor running below (air conditioning on the kitchen or a refrigeration unit?) during the night although from the 3rd floor it wasn’t too obtrusive (we sleep with the window open).

The restaurant was adequate for a few days stay. Meals are reasonably priced for their size, for example just under £14 for fish and chips, but the fish was particularly large. The pork belly was also very nice. A range of items were available for breakfast including cereals, toast and jam, (tinned) fruit, full English (some better sausages would be good) and, of course, kippers. You could ask for refills of tea and coffee. As others have noted the restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings. We resorted to the Attraversiamo Italian restaurant in town which was very pleasant.

All in all, very reasonable for the price.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view. There are 3 floors all with lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixie_dean_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    78
    32
    3
    7
See reviews for
45
136
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Although the Ramsey Park Hotel is very spacious, it has only thirty rooms covering three floors. It is less than two years old and the locals call it "The Lego Hotel" but don't be put off by that. The breakfasts are fresh and cooked to order - the omelettes are quite delicious with bacon, and the evening meals are very reasonably priced. BEWARE - the hotel does not provide meals on a Sunday night, which came as a bit of a surprise. In fact most places seem to close at six pm on Sunday evenings in Ramsey!

Room Tip: Half the rooms face the lake whilst the other half face the Irish Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ramsey_Park, General Manager at Ramsey Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that your breakfast was up to your standards and that our evening meals are reasonably priced, we have in-fact just yesterday received an award for our breakfast offering 'Highest Quality Assured' from the Isle of Man Tourism Board.

We believe it is important to offer excellent value for money and always strive to use the freshest local ingredients available on the Island and are one of the few establishments to offer freshly prepared food in Ramsey.

I note that you were disappointed that our restaurant was not open on a Sunday evening during your stay, we do open on a Sunday evening between June and September.

We do offer 24 hour (hot food) room service 365 days a year, menus are provided in the bedrooms and we also cater for resident guests with sandwiches or Panini's when requested in the lounge area. I can only apologise if you were not made aware of this during your stay and i shall ensure that our team members are communicating this to future guests who are staying on a Sunday evening.

Once again thank you for your comments and i look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

James O'Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Food - Very good and reasonably priced, fish was massive !, Service was very good both in evening and at breakfast, lovely and clean

Room - If you have ever stayed in a premier inn - well very similar. Room very clean tea and coffee and tv - huge comfortable bed - very clean room and bathroom etc -

Service - Excellent, could not fault the staff very good service

Parking - Very good

Setting - Lovely near a park, would be great in the summer

Only down side - No lounge/bar area to talk of so if you went for more than a day in the winter it would have been nice to have somewhere to sit and read that was not the bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. Look for deals online for extra value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ramsey_Park, General Manager at Ramsey Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest thank you for using Trip Advisor to review our hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I shall pass your comments on to the team, who work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests are looked after whilst staying with us, with a 'home from home' experience. I am pleased that they have lived up to this.

I note your comments on the lounge area, unfortunately due to the size of the property we only have a small lounge area. The hotel has been designed to be totally customer focused so that it is easy for our team members to acknowledge and assist guests as soon as they walk in through the door or from the main staircase. Guests do though frequently use our lounge to read books, have a coffee and complete emails etc. after dinner.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and i look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


James O'Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend with a group of 45 others and as you can imagine with such a large group booking there would be huge challenges for any hotel however from check in, hotel room facilities, cleanliness and especially the meals our experience was superb and in everything the service was excellent.
The setting and views of the sea, coastal cliffs and lake with park are an added bonus.
I will be back later this year for sure and thoroughly recommend this great new hotel not just for a group retreat but also for anyone looking a special night away.
No request to meet the needs of our group was too difficult.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ramsey_Park, General Manager at Ramsey Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Both the team and I are delighted that you stay with us was '1st Class'. It is nice to be able to accommodate a group as large as yours in our hotel and it was a real pleasure to be able to serve such a nice group of individuals.

We certainly cannot wait for you to come back!

Many thanks once again.

Kind regards


James O'Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business the week before Christmas. I was a female travelling alone. From check in to check out over 3 days I felt safe and well looked after . Because of very early starts didn't get to try breakfast but dinner was wonderful. Food excellent and good value for money. Wine list good. Staff extremely friendly and nothing too much trouble. For those who have complained about there being only one glass, one jet etc the answer is simple just ASK! It's amazing if you ask you WILL get. Will be back - hopefully next time for pleasure

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hils77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ramsey_Park, General Manager at Ramsey Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip Advisor.

I am delighted that your recent stay with us was 'Wonderful' and i am pleased to note that our staff have catered for your needs, just as you would expect.

I note that you didn't try breakfast because of your early business start to the morning. On your next stay our night porter would be delighted to prepare you a breakfast take out with a fresh cup of tea/coffee or even prepare a cooked breakfast at a time that is convenient to you, to ensure that you have the best possible start to the day.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards


James O'Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed overnight on 31st Dec. Four course meal, double room and breakfast, all inclusive @ £149.00!!!! The food was as excellent as ever, friendly staff, good atmosphere. Lovely clean rooms. We have dined there many times whether it be just a snack or a meal and never been disappointed. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, whether it be overlooking the sea or Mooragh park overlooking the boati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

After having our flights to Ireland cancelled due to bad weather, we had to find last minute accommodation late at night.
Pleasantly surprised to find that this hotel was very reasonably priced (actually discovered we had been paying more money to stay at a local b&b!) and the room was great.
Breakfast was excellent, with a great selection and the omelettes were huge!
Great location as well, overlooking a lovely lake. Staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful.
Will definitely stay here again for our next IoM visit!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
12.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
22.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
243 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey Park Hotel

Property: Ramsey Park Hotel
Address: Park Road, Moorage Promenade, Ramsey IM8 3AR
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ramsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramsey Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic town of Ramsey, the second largest on the island, and commanding stunning views over Mooragh Lake and the island’s coast, the brand new Ramsey Park Hotel is an unprecedented location for leisure or business stays on the Isle of Man. Completed to the highest standard in the summer of 2012, the hotel has 30 bedrooms, including 27 deluxe rooms and 3 spacious family rooms. Many of the rooms overlook the impressive lake and Sky Hill, other face the promenade and coastline with views towards Scotland and Cumbria in the distance. Our Lake View Restaurant is just that - a beautiful spot to enjoy a meal with an unrivaled views - serving simple, freshly prepared, home-cooked food at lunch and dinner. Ramsey is north east of the Island, only 40 minutes drive from the airport, and whether you are staying for business or for a relaxing family holiday on the Isle of Man, the Ramsey park is ideally located for the best sightseeing, beaches, golf courses and activities on this pretty island. We look forward to welcoming you here. James O'Neill, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramsey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsey Park Hotel Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing