We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable..... but lacking in character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramsey Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ramsey
Certificate of Excellence
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable..... but lacking in character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We travel to the IOM to see family and this was our second stay at this hotel this year..... there really isn't anywhere else in Ramsey!
The hotel overlooks the sea and with island weather it can get a little blustery to say the least. The rooms and public areas are very clean and comfortable and, at £80 for a double room with breakfast, it's very reasonable value. For me, the downside would have to be the total lack of character, even more so than you would normally associate with a modern hotel.
Food: we stayed for several nights so had an opportunity to try several kinds of breakfast. I have to say it was OK, but not great. There is so much fresh produce on the island but this doesn't seem to have made it into the kitchen. Evening meal was ok on both visits, but certainly not posh nosh. Queenies were fantastic, but don't bother with the cheese board unless you like 4 types of hard cheese!
Overall, I've rated this a 4 but the food is probably nearer a 3 - I scored this higher as I wanted to recognise the great staff who were attentive, friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monmouthbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    71
    30
    3
    7
See reviews for
42
131
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man`
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

2nd time here and always a warm welcome.
Rooms are very comfortable with great views over the lake.
Food in restaurant was excellent, disappointed there was no steak left, but overall Manx queenies and the beef was excellent, as were the meals for the rest of the table.
Definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monty2k05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Me & my sister stayed in the twin room, we had a lovely stay at the Ramsey park hotel, the staff make u feel at home, the receptionists are fantastic... Location & accommodation was perfect for us. We loved the view of the sea from our bedroom. We had dinner here both nights which was lovely. Will definitely be staying here again next time were over here.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie7828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nellish
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Ramsey Park Hotel for 3 nights and was extremely impressed. The staff are so helpful from when you book in to when you leave. The room was clean and room service was excellent as was the food. Mia on reception was so helpful and is an asset to this well run and 1st class hotel. We've stayed in many hotels in many different places and I would say this particular one is most definitely one of the best for service, food and excellent value for money. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Business trip this time.
LOCATION - easy to find and parking is ample for this size of hotel, plus it's free!
WELCOME at the front desk - obviously run on a limited staff model, as had to wait for the receptionist to come back from what she was doing. But that's fine, as when she did come back (<5 mins) she was very polite, courteous and welcoming.
ROOM - a box inside a box is the best way to describe it. It's simple layout with no frills, very clean, with a large comfy bed and thick duvet. A nice touch was there was no milk cartons in the room (which always taste disgusting), instead, you phoned down to the reception and they brought fresh milk up to you.
DINNER - chose to eat in the restaurant, as there didn't seem like there was anywhere else to eat in the area. The food was simple but nice enough. No atmosphere in the dinning room though.
BREAKFAST - slight oddity that they started moving tables from around me while l was eating and even though there was still loads of time for breakfast (later find out they were using the room for a tourist info meeting). Hot breakfast - looks good, poached egg was done to perfection. Hot food came very quickly, while l was still eating my cereal actually. Black pudding very dry (shame). Music playing in the breakfast room, gave it more atmosphere. Interesting they put the breakfast room at the back at the hotel, away from the view of the sea... Everything is in packets, to keep it fresh for longer dates l guess.
STAFF - actually they are all very pleasant and don't seem to be able to do enough for you.
FUNNY STORY - people on the table next to me, reported they didn't have a bath plug in their bath, so they had in improvise with their feet during the night...
IN SUMMARY - it's like a PremierInn/ Travelodge on the IOM, ie you know what you are getting. If that is what you are after, then you'll like this place. I'd use it again for business travel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JonW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Isles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice modern hotel. The location is superb and every room will have excellent views either over the lake and mountains or over the Irish Sea. The hotel isn't the best looking from outside being a purpose built hotel modelled on premier inn etc but internally it is very good. Free wifi and parking too. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this new hotel on our revisit to the Island after many years.The welcome was warm and courteous.The room matched our needs and was most comfortable
We arranged for dinner ,bed and breakfast and were not disappointed with the food.The dinner menu was varied and the Chef and his 'Brigade' are to be congratulated on the quality.Certainly stay again at some future date.
Liverpool

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
12.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
22.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey Park Hotel

Property: Ramsey Park Hotel
Address: Park Road, Moorage Promenade, Ramsey IM8 3AR
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ramsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramsey Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic town of Ramsey, the second largest on the island, and commanding stunning views over Mooragh Lake and the island’s coast, the brand new Ramsey Park Hotel is an unprecedented location for leisure or business stays on the Isle of Man. Completed to the highest standard in the summer of 2012, the hotel has 30 bedrooms, including 27 deluxe rooms and 3 spacious family rooms. Many of the rooms overlook the impressive lake and Sky Hill, other face the promenade and coastline with views towards Scotland and Cumbria in the distance. Our Lake View Restaurant is just that - a beautiful spot to enjoy a meal with an unrivaled views - serving simple, freshly prepared, home-cooked food at lunch and dinner. Ramsey is north east of the Island, only 40 minutes drive from the airport, and whether you are staying for business or for a relaxing family holiday on the Isle of Man, the Ramsey park is ideally located for the best sightseeing, beaches, golf courses and activities on this pretty island. We look forward to welcoming you here. James O'Neill, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramsey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsey Park Hotel Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing