We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodside Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Ramsey B&B and Inns
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Woodside for two nights recently while walking the Raad ny Foillan (IOM Coastal Path) and very much enjoyed our stay.

We had a warm and friendly welcome, a spacious, comfortable room and a great breakfast. Alison and Orry were a mine of local information and only too happy to chat about the island.

We`ve stayed in a lot of B&B`s in recent years and this one rates right up at the top!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassyturner, Owner at Woodside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We both thank you very much for your recent review it was great to read your comments and we have spent a lot of time discussing the way forward especially Orry's role and his wealth of information. We hope to put it to good use in the future. It was lovely meeting you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay on the Isle of Man and at our Bed & Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting relatives. We couldn't have picked a better B&B, it had everything you could possibly require and if there was anything else you needed we are certain that Alison and Orry would have provided it for you.
We had Room 1 which had the most amazing view over the sea and even a telescope and a pair of binoculars to spot passing ships. It was also the biggest and best room we have ever had in a B&B.
The breakfast was served in the front room downstairs which had the same fabulous view. The food was prepared especially for you and the choice was great.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay made even more enjoyable by the hospitality of Alison and Orry. Definitely a 5 star B&B which we would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We are sure that all the rooms are amazing but Room 1 certainly had the best view over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassyturner, Owner at Woodside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We have just read your review and thank you so much for the lovely compliments. One of the best parts of our job is meeting and greeting our new guests, getting to know them and hoping they are enjoying their stay not only at Woodside but for the reason they have come to the isle of man. We know yours was family based and so hopefully we look forward to your return in the future. Thank you once again for such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from a lovely weekend in the Isle of Man, we were fortunate enough to stay at Woodside and what a fabulous place this is.
Alison and Orry are brilliant hosts and nothing seems too much trouble for them.
The setting at the top of Ramsey is great for views over the bay and surrounding sea, and only a short walk down into the town for food and drinks.
We had the bedroom on the 1st floor looking out over the bay and I don't think you can fault anything in it at all. The bed was huge and super comfy resulting in a very peaceful nights sleep.
The expertly cooked full English breakfast sets you up for the day, although I believe there is a healthy option too (but when the full English is so good why would you?)
Overall the best B&B we have ever stayed in......anywhere !!
Thank you so much for making us both feel very welcome in your home.
Matt and Annette.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattib65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassyturner, Owner at Woodside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
How lovely to get such a great review and so glad you enjoyed your first trip to the isle of man and your stay at Woodside. Orry and I along with buster look forward to your return for TT 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Whilst on my year two teaching practise I was fortunate enough to be placed in Woodside for 2 months. Alison and Orry made what could have been an entirely unpleasant experience unforgettable for all the right reasons. I was new to the island and had not chosen to come here and found the prospect of a two month stay away from home dreadful. However, as the weeks went on due Alison and Orry's wonderful hospitality I was made to feel like part of the family and was devastated when the time came to leave. The hotel itself boasts spectacular views of the sea on a clear day which can be seen from the breakfast table. The rooms are pleasantly furnished and made me feel completely at home. I would recommend the Woodside to anyone and would be extremely disappointed if I never returned for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassyturner, Owner at Woodside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review it was so nice to know that after your initial thoughts on coming to stay in the Isle of Man that our beautiful island worked its magic and your time at Woodside helped to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pissouri, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast enough. The room had the most spectacular view of Ramsey Bay which was a beautiful and very spacious room. The couple who run the b and b made us so welcome and comfortable and were brilliant with our four year old little boy. A truly wonderful holiday! many thanks to Alison and Orry xxx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexhubbard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassyturner, Owner at Woodside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review . As it was such a special trip for you all with a wonderful outcome it will be lovely to see you all return in the very near future to start your new life in the Isle of Man. Best wishes and please send us some sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban SA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 1 night at Woodside during a 4 night visit to IOM. Really excellent place, where we would return to and happlily recommend. Alison and Orry went out of their way to make us feel at home in their home.
Huge superbly furnished room overlooking Ramsay.

Room Tip: Front facing a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassyturner, Owner at Woodside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and it was a pleasure meeting you both. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the Island and wishing you a safe journey home to South Africa after your short stay in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

A group of friends, my husband and I had got together and arranged to watch the TT Races. We arrived at Woodside and was very impressed, Alison and Orry were so friendly and welcoming. We were in the large room on second floor (when I say large it was huge), it is immaculate with stunning views. The room had lovely touches like kettle, tea, coffee, bottled water, dressing gowns towel an array of useful bits, even a telescope on stand which was amazing to enjoy the views.
Alison and Orry were such amazing hosts we felt welcome nothing was to much trouble, it was our silver anniversary and we had the best time off our life's, Alison and Orry made all of our holidays perfect. Orry even took a group of us out on his boat which I can honestly say was so amazing, and will be one of my most treasured memories ever. If you want to stay in a bed and breakfast where your host knows how to judge people so well and gives just the right amount of input that you want, with great rooms, fabulous breakfast, then this is the place for you. I know are holiday was more than enriched by staying at the Woodside, we feel it was made by staying there. Thank you Alison and Orry, my lovelies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassyturner, Owner at Woodside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review and so pleased we helped to make your trip special. Half the fun of doing this job is meeting new people and hoping that they will enjoy their trip to the Isle of Man and their stay at Woodside. Your comments have made us feel like we are going in the right direction and hope in the future we can welcome you all back to Woodside. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
1.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodbrae Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Sulby Glen Hotel
The Sulby Glen Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sulby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Address: Woodside The Crescent, The Crescent, Ramsey IM8 2JN
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ramsey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the hillside below the Albert Tower of Ramsey, its backdrop being the famous TT Mountain Road you will find Woodside Bed & Breakfast.Recently refurbished it maintains the original Victorian charm but with 21st century mod cons. The stunning views over Ramsey Bay make it a wonderful place to chill down and experience the truly beautiful Isle of Man.Orry and Alison extend a warm Manx welcome to their beautiful Victorian Home. Depending on the time of your arrival you can expect a nice cup of Tea or coffee and homemade cake or biscuits. Within walking distance of Ramsey and all its amenities, a five minute walk to the bus and tram stops and literally one step outside the back door and you are in a walkers paradise with beautiful walks on either side of you, the choice is yours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodside Bed & Breakfast Ramsey, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing