We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Watch out for their special offers!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Mile - CLOSED

Golden Mile
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Watch out for their special offers!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Board outside restaurant advertised Banquet £9.80 p.p. Tues-Thurs, Sunday between 5.30 & 7.30pm. (They are closed on Mondays).
We arrived 6.50pm and checked the menu for the Banquet on offer and it was pretty good.
Waitress comes over and we order and are told Banquet not on at weekend, we thought we had got mixed up and ordered something else.
However the evening and service provided deteriorated even further, waitress seemed not to understand English at times, when money involved and kept adding to our order and telling us certain things were included and not a choice, seemed to be trying to bump up the price?
Our final bill came to £61, this included a bottle of wine and 1 dessert and 1 Jameson coffee, which we paid. However before we left we checked our facts from outside notices and took pictures of same. When we realised we had not made a mistake we asked to see the manager/owner. After many raised voices from kitchen a Chinese lady appeared and said the waitress had got it all wrong and she hoped we would visit again (as if).
She did recalculate the bill to what we would have paid if we had been charged for the Banquet, but I had mentioned "false advertising" and "trading standards" and also the fact I heard waitress tell someone else it was not Banquet night.
The re-calculated bill then came to £45.52. A big difference wouldn`t you agree? Food was ok but nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VELMA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent as normal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

always pleasant , good food , nothing to much, always use the golden mile . will do things that's not on the menu if they can

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Again a very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a VERY good Restaurant, Dora is a wonderful host and can't do enough for you. The food is exceptional and very well priced, freshly prepared food AND YOU CAN TELL I have no problems whatsoever in recommending

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Your host, Dora, will usually be there to welcome you and to make sure you have an enjoyable meal. All the food is freshly prepared to order so you might have to wait a few extra minutes when they are busy. We have eaten there on several occasions and not had a bad meal yet, so we don't have a problem about recommending it to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The service and staff were fine but the food was very average and, for what we had, way overpriced.
We ordered a mixed meat dish but were served mixed seafood, but had already started when we realised so didn't send it back (another of our party was already into their main course and we didn't want them to be eating alone). It ws OK but not particularly inspiring, and not good value for the price. Wouldn't bother again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anibYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Mile also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing