We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best service in Ramsey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Mile - CLOSED

Golden Mile
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Ramsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service in Ramsey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Dora is the loveliest host you will ever meet. She is very attentive and is super friendly with our little girl. The food is good and there are great set menu options or an all-you-can-eat buffet for around £15 which is cooked fresh to your order (you can keep ordering more as you go along).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The food is a bit above average, certainly not the best nor the worst on the Island. But the service is impeccable. Even if you go for a take-away you are greeted with a smile and offered a drink while you wait. It is the friendliness that keeps me coming back. The 'all you can eat' buffet offers excellent value (from memory £14?) and tasted good. We mentioned something that wasn't on the buffet menu and the chef was asked to prepare it anyway.

There is another Chinese restaurant in Ramsey. It is more expensive and you are left in no doubt that the staff consider they are doing you a favour by letting you eat there. That is never the case at the Golden Mile where a warm greeting is guaranteed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iom_keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Golden Mile in Ramsey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned home from having a meal at the Golden Mile Chinese restaurant. Don't listen to the comment on here about bad service etc. etc. My wife and I had a mixed platter of starters which were the best we've had at any chinese restaurant anywhere worldwide, .......superb, and all through our meal and dessert the waitress was always on hand with a great smile. definitely a must visit again restaurant, great atmosphere and plenty of parking right outside. If a visitor to the Island make sure you don't miss this one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank man21be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLE OF MAN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always excelent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We go regularly, and have never been disappointed, with either the food or service. Recommend most highly.

Helpful?
1 Thank MR-KATZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Plenty of better Chinese restaurants/take outs in Ramsey, don't bother with this one.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Having been a few times, I can honestly say this is a fair review since the experience was the same on all occasions. The food is average at best. You can get comparable Chinese food from tesco or m&s; which not what you expect from a restaurant. our food orders were mixed up on all visits, we were getting special fried rice instead of boiled rice which we asked for, beef in plum sauce instead of chilli sauce. One of our group had to wait nearly 10 minutes longer than the rest of us to get her main course, by then the rice had gone cold. Then there is the bill. Not value for money at all; it's expensive to eat here when compared with other Chinese restaurants and take aways in Ramsey. One last thing; wanting to leave after the mediocre meal we all had we didn't scrutinise the bill. Turns out we were actually charged for those special fried rice portions which we didn't even order and sent back!! Will never go again. Much better experiences to be had elsewhere.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brachypelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Mile also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing