We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“14th Down summer camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Venture Centre

The Venture Centre
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“14th Down summer camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just back from one of the best camps I've been involved with through Scouting The venture Centre is a must stay for people of all ages esp Scouts/Cubs.We learned so much from very professional and friendly staff ,my face is still sore from laughing.Simon ,Mike and their Dad run this amazing Centre with help from very friendly and patient staff.Our Scouts were looked after by Miles,Nick ,Mike and Phil who will always be part of our scout unit .We will definitely be back . If anyone reading this is looking for a real exciting ,fun activity break GO HERE you can trust me on that.
Thanks again guys
See you soon
Stephen

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen14th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trip for 14th Down Scout Group from NI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have just arrived home from the Venture Centre after having a brilliant time. Accommodation is excellent and food for the kids and leaders alike excellent.Mike and Simon have a well run establishment here and their staff are to be commended. Too name but a few, Miles, tremendous, Mike, superb, Mike, so totally patient, lovely guy and phil. All we can say is, your centre comes very highly recommended and at no stage did any of us ever feel in danger. The facilities are great, staff wonderful and friendly, Kids felt totally safe as did the Leaders and everyone got involved. You truly have a wonderful establishment in your centre and staff are brilliant. We recommend it highly and we will definitely be back.

Simon and Mike you run a wonderful Venture Centre and it is an experience our kids as a Scout Group will never forget.

Well done to all of you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SiobhanHorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“60 and still walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a short 3-day break at the center and had a fantastic time. The staff are fantastic: keen, polite, professional, highly-skilled. We were able to do kayaking, abseiling, gorge-walking, shooting and archery - filling nearly every hour of the day. We wanted to be challenged which we were, but never felt too far out-of-our depth and always had the experts on-hand to ensure nothing went wrong.
The accommodation is good - hot water all the time, heating through the night in the cold, and en-suite bathroom with 3 sharing (in our case). Highly recommended to try a new sport, or go further and challenge yourself to something you'd never otherwise do.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No words to describe how amazing it is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have been here many times and it is a brilliant place for an adventurous family wanting a day out with a difference. There are many activities that you can do including gorge walking, kayaking, zip wire, assault course and many more! You can stay the night there and it is one of the places that i will hold in my heart forever! Lovely staff and food aswell!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I brought a school group here from Liverpool for about six years - we never had any complaints our children had a fantastic time from the welcome to the wave goodbye at the end of the week. The days are jammed packed with activity ledby experienced and well qualified staff, the home cooked food keeps them going all day the accommodation in the old farm buildings is all part of the adventure. Visits off centre to the glen and to mooragh park lake offer more than the average residential trip. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venture Centre also viewed

 
Foxdale, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Venture Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing