We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, wonderful accommodation, perfect location, great hosts!”
Review of The River House

The River House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River House
Ranked #8 of 12 Ramsey B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you're looking for a wonderful getaway or going for the most exciting motorcycle racing in the world, you must go to the Isle of Man and stay at The River House! It's a big beautiful home on the river in Ramsey which is a wonderful little town in easy walking distance from the house. The home itself has beautiful grounds tucked back off the beaten path and is quiet and serene with beautiful gardens to enjoy and the hosts, Adrienne and Edward, will make you feel right at home. The breakfasts are to die for, served on elegant tableware and a pleasure to look forward to each morning! The Isle itself is just a treasure trove of things to see and do with castles, beautiful glens, steam trains, electric trains, and too much more to mention. Enough to do so that you can be as busy or quiet and peaceful as you choose to be. Go and enjoy and tell Adrienne and Edward that Mary and Sam sent you!!!! Loved our 10 days on the Isle!!!!!

Room Tip: All of their suites are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Only stayed here one night on business and normally stay in the Ramsey Park Hotel. I felt welcomed the moment I walked in, almost a feeling of going home. It is so nice to actually talk to people instead of being part of the usual "your just a number" hotel chain. I had actually forgotten what it is like to actually chat to people and find out about their lives rather than just calling for room service.

No the place isn't perfect like a new hotel but I would rather have the comfort of home and a warm friendly atmosphere from now on.

If your staying in Ramsey or just visiting the Island please try this place and experience the comfort and friendliness of home.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VMSLogisticsLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed three nights and it as the web site. That is it is very comfortable and well decorated in a good location with views over the river. Our first visit to the island and will return but not to Ramsey. We could not find much to recommend in Ramsey. Eat at the Harbour Bistro two nights. Decor is very dated and it is nothing more than a basic pub. Food on first night was very good but not good on second visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was just the most amazing experience, what a fabulous place. A really excellent breakfast with luxurious rooms and our bathroom en suite was simply beautiful with delightful views across the glorious garden. Sitting alongside the river, it is both peaceful and well located to enjoy the town of Ramsey which is full of hidden delights, particularly in relation to artisan type shops. The Harbour Bistro at the end of the main shopping street is a welcome retreat for the hungry visitor, we enjoyed really tasty food and they have a good selection of wines.
However, the absolute highlight for us was the hospitality provided by our hosts at the River House, rarely have I experienced such genuine kindness and thought, outside of my own family and friendship group. Thank you so much I really hope we can return very soon.
Jo and Vicky

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J0T0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Warm welcome without being overbearing, for under £60 pounds I had my own suite including a sitting room and kitchen. Beautiful setting by the river, peaceful and secure, at the end of each working day of my trip I felt as if I was going home. Very special place including a great breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Well placed for local golf course; walks; nature reserve. Good bus, tram, and train services around the Island.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarefulScreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
16
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We have had a wonderful time at the River House B&B in Ramsey, Isle of Man. It has a magnificent setting on the Sulby River with three acres of grounds and wonderful views. The en-suite bedrooms are large, spacious and beautifully furnished. The breakfast is to die for, with an amazing "fry-up", proper freshly squeezed orange juice, and all home-made breads & marmalades. aa

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ramsey hotels
0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
318 reviews
0 mi away
Woodbrae Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
At Cedar Lodge
At Cedar Lodge
#1 of 1 in Glen Mona
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Summerlands B&B
Summerlands B&B
#1 of 12 in Ramsey
33 reviews
0 mi away
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Ramsey
25 reviews
0 mi away
Milntown Estate Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House

Address: Ramsey IM8 3DA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ramsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsey
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The River House Ramsey, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing