We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
$144
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
287
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnikki nigelfraser roomyellow roomplace to stayisle of manhome from homenothing is too much troubleperfect hostssewing kitbiscuitsthought of everythingb and brooms are beautifulthoughtful touchesfluffy towelshuge bedwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 288 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Nikki and Nigel (and helped by Coco and Ralphy) run a great B&B: lovely room (my wife and I stayed in the Fraser room), very comfy beds, super breakfast, good location, .....
Nigel's is (rightly) very proud of his very colourful small front garden - it is small, but is fabulous, and has space for table and chairs, so it's possible to have coffees/drinks and watch the world go by.
Parking can be a bit of a problem: double yellow lines in Albany Road, but a large carpark opposite the house. However, it does get filled up - so (unless you stake your claim early) be prepared for a more distant parking spot.
From Albany House it's an easy (downhill) walk (so uphill back the way!) to the centre of Peel, and its many restaurants; but do book, or be prepared for disappointment!
There's lots to see and do on Isle of Man, and Peel makes a good central base.
Would we go back to IoM? Yes! And to Albany House? Yes!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrysg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyHouse, Owner at Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

In response to Harrysg0 comments above regarding parking. We have taken their comments on board and in order to give our guests more comfort we have purchased two reserved parking spaces. The car park across the road is usually fine to park in, only on the odd occasion do you find it full when something is on in either the church or the Centenary Centre.

Should there not be a space, then there is another large car park just behind Albany House, it's a 2 minute walk away and there are always plenty of spaces. Both car parks are free 24 hours, 7 days a week.

Any queries regarding parking please call Nikki on 07624 483866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Osborn room - as both the website and then Nikki warn in advance, the room is small and so we knew to expect this. We were just happy to get the last available room. Every amenity is in the room from bathrobes robes to Sky channel TV, to a basket of toiletries in case anything was forgotten. The tea caddy was also lovely with a huge variety of herbal and other teas, biscuits etc. The location is excellent, and there is a large free public car park with a pedestrian entrance just across the road which is perfect. Peel is a great town to be based in - easy to get north and south on the Island, enough choice for good evening meals (book in advance!) and sufficient local amenities whilst still retaining the large village feel. Nikki and Nigel are available for suggestions and itineraries, and this is a B&B where you really are staying in someone's house - there is no separate guests lounge etc. The continental breakfast offerings were lovely - the fruit on the Isle of Man really is superb. The cooked breakfast we found to be fine - this was the only area where I would have knocked half a point off for a 4.5 rather than 5 stars as the scrambled eggs were unfortunately not very good - hard and tasteless, equally the mushrooms were rather dry. However the kippers made up for it and so the review stays at 5 stars. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbanyHouse, Owner at Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we very much appreciate peoples comments as it helps tell others what we’re all about. We care greatly that our guests enjoy their visit, we always like to ensure everyone leaves having a lovely time, rested and rejuvenated .

I can only apologise that we didn't point out that the lounge is actually the guest lounge and people are more than welcome to use it anytime.

Sorry about the scrambled eggs, on this occasion I think it was purely down to bad timing on our part due to meeting your request for a late breakfast and a late check out.

We’d enjoyed meeting you both and thanks again for the honest review.

Nikki & Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Albany House comes very highly recommended... Nigel and Nikki could not have done more to make my stay happier. Lovely cosy, quiet room at the back of the house. Small but perfectly formed... especially good for a solo traveller! Everything you would want is in the room, tea/coffee making,(despite the fact that I could have make a cup in my room, Nikki rushed off to make me a cup when I arrived) hairdryer, naughty little jar of toffees, lovely fluffy white towels, big bed with crisp white sheets and a pile of really comfy pillow. Also the room with its smart little en suit shower room was spotless.

Nikki and Nigel treat their guest as their friends, they are kind and generous and full of smiles and laughter. The house is full of character with some lovely touches... Outside, at the front of the house, is a tiny garden over flowing with flowers.. the garden is Nigel's pride and joy and rightly so, you can sit out there and have a cuppa and take in the evening sunshine..... I even got given a glass of Pims... whoopie!!!

Thank you N&N you are lovely people and I could not have asked for more!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123charlieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Having stayed at numerous b&bs in the UK, we can say without doubt this is probably the best. From the moment we arrived Nikki and Nigel did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The cleanliness, the comfortable beds, excellent food and hospitality could not be bettered. Also a pleasant welcome from Ralphy and Coco two excellently behaved pets.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed here for the location, Peel is an excellent base on the Isle of Man. What a surprise, Nikki & Nigel couldn't be better hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is first rate, every conceivable thing is provided, if you can think of something you need, it is there.

Breakfast is not the usual fry up, an extremly comprehensive menu, from fresh fruit to kippers, and everything in between.

I am a regular traveller (work) and this is the best B&B I have stayed in. Try this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weestrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews