We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Peel Castle
from $237.84
More Info
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
343
187
35
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
343
187
35
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide fantastic views wander around own pace sunny day isle of man well worth a visit open air basking sharks lovely walk fascinating history information boards national trust members interesting place manx heritage ruins site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely worth a visit. Great views of town and sea from all areas of the castle. The audio guide is particularly good, easy to work, every building is numbered and corresponds to the guide. Quite a few steps to climb and walking on grass, so have to be mobile. Everything is outside so perhaps not so good if it’s a wet day.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Northerner802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this place. You can walk right around the outside then go inside. Parking is free and there is a little cafe adjoining the car parking, tea coffee hot dogs etc. There’s some steps to sit above the cafe which is lovely to look out on to the sea for the local wildlife.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank J9040BJlisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Peel Castle is a must when visiting the island
Friendly greeting and very informative
Was given a listening device to activate as you walk around to hear about the castle
Ando the views you have are amazing

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

I've been coming to the Isle of Man 25 years or so and pretty much every visit a walk around the outside of Peel Castle was a given. This itself is excellent with the bracing wind whipping in off the sea you could catch site of the many seals splashing about, although I have never been there at the right time of year, basking sharks are also visible.

This visit for the first time ever we went into the castle (2 adults, 2 children £24.00)and it was a pleasant surprise, the remains of buildings throughout the grounds, which themselves were much larger than expected from our walk outside the walls.

To aid you in your walk around is an audio guide with over 30 spots around the castle giving you background details.

A must for the tourist in the Isle of Man, ideally using the pass you can buy to take in all Manx National Heritage sites.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Steviefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

We got in free with our English heritage cards but I would definitely pay to go in if I didn't. The ruins are in good condition that you can still walk around them and there is just enough left to Imagen life before. The ruins of the old cathedral are amazing especially when light comes though the windows. When we walked around the views from the castle are amazing of the sea and looking in to Peel. The little bay next to the castle is particularly nice as the water is a turquoise in colour. The tower and over building are nice to look at as are the more recent history building from the Napoleonic wars. So in short if you are in peel this is a must! You also get a free audio guide if you want to learn more.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 932nathanaely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews