We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got exactly what we paid for 'decent' bed and breakfast. No complaints whatsever!”
Review of The Fernleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fernleigh
Ranked #4 of 4 Peel B&B and Inns
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We got exactly what we paid for 'decent' bed and breakfast. No complaints whatsever!”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in room 4 on 24th and 25th June 2011. We got exactly what we paid for. Clean room and breakfast. There was a choice of breakfast. Staff were very nice and helpful. I cannot comment on other rooms as I did not see them but our room was spotless. The room was small with no window views but we only slept in it so that did not bother us. June was very pleasant and welcoming. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knocktoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
21
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Booked by phone before travelling to the island, good communication, booking was hassle free. Stayed 2 nights while on cycle trip to Isle of Man. Fernleigh provided overnight storage for cycles. Bedroom overlooked the bay, view was tremendous. Rooms and bathrooms look like they are in need of some upgrading. Very good breakfast selection. Good value for money. Handy for a stroll to the harbour to find pubs and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have came across this website by accident but what a great idea!
I did not enjoy my stay in this hotel at all & neither did my friend.
Our room was small,dark,dismal & depressing. Breakfast was reheated (not very nice at all) The places difficult to reach in the room were covered in dust,in fact my friend rubbed her hand above the wardrobe & it appeared thick with dust.
My friend complained & was threatened by a woman we believe was the owners daughter,not a nice moment at all.
The shower screen was dirty & window cill had tea/coffee stains present.
I wouldnt stay here again & neither would my friend. We normally stay at another hotel in Peel & next time will stay there again, well you live & learn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine29UK, General Manager at The Fernleigh, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
I am sorry to hear how unhappy you were with your stay with us. So that we can deal with all of your issues competently please could you tell me what rooms you and your friend were staying in and when it was you were staying with us. This will help us to rectify any issues for future guests so that we can make it a pleasant stay for others.

You are very correct in saying that this website is a great idea as now we can correct all issues that past guests have had so that future guests will not be dissapointed.

I can assure you that our breakfasts are cooked freshy every morning and are praised by the majority of our guests for being fantastic. I will look into why you have not had the same experience when I know what time of year you stayed with us.

Finally, please could you tell me what your friends complaint was about and to whom they spoke as I cannot see this through without more information. Also I need information as to how your friend was threatened. As you say they have been threatened this is a serious matter and can not be left unattended.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We love going to the Fernleigh.
The views are spectacular, it's been said that June is a very special lady and she is, there's a little bowl of chocolates to dip into, fantastic breakfasts, our little boy was well taken care of - all in all a very warm and friendly stay, and very relaxing.
We've gone a few years now, and our favourite family room, has just had the full works and was looking really lovely.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Peel. Melissa, Brian, little Benjamin

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

After a long journey to IOM, June greeted us so sweetly and made us feel at home right away. I was expecting a plate of warm cookies and a glass of milk to come out at any moment. How nice to find hot chocolate in my room. We had a delicious breakfast (the porridge with Bailey's was an awesome bonus) and 2 fantastic nights at her clean, quiet, friendly hotel. She gave us wonderful suggestions for restaurants, sites to see and directions to the bus line. June and the rest of her staff were just a treasure to encounter on our 2 weeks of B&B's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marketina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

came here for a break from the kids & to go a 21st with my fella .room was in need of decoration not very clean bed very squeeky
dark & cold heating wasnt on food not brilliant

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanyotink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Ditton, Surrey.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

A very pleasant welcome and we were looked after. The breakfast was also very good. The thing that let it down was the room. Dark, dingy and the bathroom was less than desireable. Make sure you ask for a different room.

Building work was going on as well and we were woken by the sound of people on the scaffolding which didn't make the experience very private. Would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cholomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peel
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernleigh

Property: The Fernleigh
Address: Fernleigh 7 Marine Parade, Peel IM5 1PB
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Peel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fernleigh is a well established family business that has been run by June Pownall and her family for over 20 years. The bed & breakfast offers bright, clean and stylish accommodation throughout and a warm welcome to all guests. There are 12 rooms available, 8 standard rooms and 4 with full en-suite facilities. Ranging from compact single to large family sized rooms, all are furnished to the same high level and offer colour televisions, hairdryers and courtesy trays with complimentary tea and coffee.They say that breakfast is the best way to start the day, and breakfast at the Fernleigh is definitely worth getting out of bed for! The hearty menu changes every day, and includes a broad selection of hot and cold vegetarian options such as: stuffed mushrooms, bagels with cream cheese, vegetarian sausages and Staffordshire oatcakes (if you don't know what they are, then you are in for a treat) which may even tempt the meat eaters, and of course the famous Manx Kippers. All the food is home prepared and cooked and using the finest locally sourced ingredients.The Fernleigh provides a real 'home from home' experience for your holiday; and features original artwork throughout the B&B, some of which has been painted by talented professional artists who return as guests, year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fernleigh Peel, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing